How Many Championships Does Kansas Basketball Have?

The Jayhawks have won a total of 12 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships. 8 of those championships have come under head coach Bill Self.

Checkout this video:


Kansas basketball has won three NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships. The Jayhawks have also been to the Final Four fourteen times, the most of any team in the nation.


The Jayhawks have won 3 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships (1952, 1988, 2008). In addition, they have also been the runner-up 4 times (1940, 1947, 1991, 2003).


Kansas has won 31 regular season conference titles in the following conferences:
-Big 12 Conference (18): 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 , 2018
-Big Eight Conference (13): 1960 , 1961 , 1962 , 1963 , 1964 , 1965 , 1966 , 1967 , 1968 , 1969 , 1970 , 1971 , 1972
-Missouri Valley Conference (0):


Kansas has won 3 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships. The Jayhawks also have 5 National Invitation Tournament Championships and 2 College Basketball Invitational Championships.


Kansas has won the NCAA Championship Basketball Tournament 14 times, the most recent being in 2018. Kansas also has the most conference championships of any team in NCAA history, with 31 championships total.


The Jayhawks have won 27 regular season conference championships. They have also won an additional 31 conference tournament championships, which includes 15 Big 12 tournament titles.

Retired Numbers

The Kansas Jayhawks men’s basketball program has celebrated many successes throughout its history. As of 2020, the Jayhawks have won 3 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships, 4 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament Championships, and 22 Conference Championships. The Jayhawks have also retired 11 jersey numbers, in honor of some of the greatest players to ever don the Kansas uniform.


The jersey is an iconic part of American sports culture. Wearing the same number as your favorite player can make you feel like you’re part of the team. For some fans, owning a jersey is the ultimate expression of loyalty.

Many professional sports teams retire the jerseys of their most legendary players. This is a way to honor their legacy and inspire future generations of fans.

The Kansas Jayhawks have retired eight jerseys in their history. Here are the stories behind each one:

Wilt Chamberlain #13
Chamberlain is one of the most dominant players in basketball history. He was a three-time NBA MVP and led the Jayhawks to their first NCAA Championship in 1952. His number was retired in 1957, just five years after he graduated from Kansas.

Paul Endacott #12
Endacott was a three-time All-American for Kansas and helped the Jayhawks win two NCAA Championships (1922, 1923). He was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1961 and his number was retired soon after.

Adolph Rupp #22
Rupp coached at Kentucky for 41 years, winning four NCAA Championships. He is considered one of the greatest coaches in college basketball history. His number was retired by Kentucky in 1972, but that didn’t stop Kansas from retiring it in 2005.

Danny Manning #25
Manning is one of the most decorated players in Kansas history. He was a two-time All-American and won the 1988 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player award, leading the Jayhawks to their first championship in over 30 years. His number was retired in 2003, just five years after he graduated from Kansas.
Bill self #75

Self has been the head coach at Kansas since 2003, winning five Big 12 Conference Championships and one NCAA Championship (2008). His number was retired in 2016, becoming just the second coach in school history to have his jersey hanging from the rafters.

The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament, or “March Madness,” is an annual single-elimination basketball tournament featuring 68 of the best college basketball teams from around the country.

The tournament is divided into four regions, and each region has 16 teams. The teams are seeded from 1 to 16, with the top seed being the team that is ranked number 1 in that region, and so on.

The tournament starts with the “First Four,” which are four play-in games between the four lowest-seeded teams in each region. The winners of those games advance to the main tournament bracket, where they will compete against the other 48 teams in their region.

The tournament is played over a three-week period in March and April, and each year it culminates with the “Final Four,” which are the semi-final and final games played at a neutral site.

The team that wins the Final Four is crowned the National Champion.


The Jayhawks and the Wildcats. These two teams have been battling it out for years on the hardwood, and their fans are just as intense as the players. The rivalry is so intense that when these two teams meet, the game is broadcast on national television. The Jayhawks have won the last six meetings, but the Wildcats are looking to turn the tide this year.

border war

The border war is a rivalry between the University of Kansas and the University of Missouri. The two schools are located in adjacent states (Kansas and Missouri) and used to be in the same conference (the Big 12).

The rivalry is most intense in basketball, as both schools have very successful programs. Kansas has won more championships, but Missouri has been to more Final Fours.

sunflower showdown

The Sunflower Showdown is the colloquial name for the Kansas–Kansas State men’s basketball rivalry. It denotes the rivalry between the University of Kansas Jayhawks and Kansas State University Wildcats. The name is derived from both schools being located in counties in Kansas that produce sunflowers. The two teams have met 205 times, with Kansas winning 130 of those contests.

Scroll to Top