How Many Championships Has Kansas Won?

Kansas has won a total of 27 championships in college basketball. This includes 11 NCAA Division I championships, 3 NAIA Division I championships, and 13 conference championships.

Checkout this video:

Championships by School

Kansas has won a total of 5 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships. The Jayhawks first won the title in 1952 and most recently in 2012 and 2018. Kansas is tied with Duke for the 4th most NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships.


Kansas has won the following championships:
-National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I (men’s): 1952, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1993, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
-National Invitation Tournament (NIT) (men’s): 1946, 1947
-National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Division I (men’s): 1957
-NCAA Division II (men’s): 1971
-NCAA Division I (women’s): 1986


UCLA has the most NCAA national championships of any school, with 118 team championships and 149 individual championships as of June 2017. The Bruins have won championships in a record 20 different sports. UCLA also holds the record for the most NCAA Championships in a single academic year, with 27 titles in the 1983-1984 season.


Kentucky haswon a total of 8 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships. The first came in 1948, and the most recent came in 2012.

Championships by Conference

Kansas has won a total of 10 conference championships. These include 7 Big 12 championships, 2 conference championships (1952 and 1988), and 1 championship in the Big 8 conference (1997).

Big 12

Kansas has won 12 conference championships in the Big 12.


The SEC has won the most national championships in college football with 12. Alabama leads the way with five national titles, followed by Auburn with two. LSU, Georgia and Florida have each won one national championship.



The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) is a collegiate athletic conference in the United States of America in which its fifteen member universities compete in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)’s Division I, with its football teams competing in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), the highest levels for athletic competition for that sport. The ACC sponsors competition in twenty-five sports with many of its member institutions’ athletic programs held in high regard nationally. Current members of the conference are Boston College, Clemson University, Duke University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Florida State University, North Carolina State University, Syracuse University, The University of Louisville, The University of Miami, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Pittsburgh and Notre Dame.

Kansas has won 3 championships in the ACC.

Championships by Year

Kansas has been very successful in college basketball, winning a total of 17 championships. The first championship was won in 1952, and the most recent was in 2018. Kansas has also won 3 NCAA Division I football championships, in 1921, 1922, and 1923.


The 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament was the 81st edition of the single-elimination tournament to determine the men’s national collegiate basketball champion of NCAA Division I. The 81st edition of the tournament began on March 14, 2017 and concluded with the championship game on April 3 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

Kansas won their fourteenth championship in school history by defeating Memphis 75-68 in the championship game. They were led by head coach Bill Self and senior guard Frank Mason III, who was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four. This was Kansas’ first championship since 2008.


In 2018, the Jayhawks won a share of the Big 12 regular season title for the 15th time in school history and the first time since 2013. They went on to win the Big 12 tournament title for the first time since 2011 and reached the Final Four for the first time since 2012.


Kansas City Chiefs – Super Bowl LIV

Scroll to Top