How Many Counties Are in Kansas?

Did you know that Kansas has 105 counties? Learn more about the history and geography of Kansas with this fascinating blog post.

Checkout this video:

How many counties are in Kansas?

As of 2019, there are 105 counties in the U.S. state of Kansas. Kansas is divided into 628 cities and townships. The largest city in Kansas is Wichita, with a population of 389,937.

The history of Kansas counties

While the state of Kansas has had counties since its territorial days, the number of counties has varied over time. The first official count was 33 counties, which were created by the Territorial Legislature in 1855. This number grew to 105 by 1887, and then to 165 by 1903. At present, there are 105 counties in Kansas.

The geography of Kansas counties

Kansas has 105 counties, the sixth-most of any state. The largest county by population in Kansas is Johnson County, home to the city of Overland Park. The smallest county by population is Greeley County, with just 1,247 residents as of 2010.

The largest county by area is Barber County, at 1,506 square miles (3,890 km2). The smallest county by area is Rawlins County, at 579 square miles (1,500 km2).

Of Kansas’s 105 counties, 30 are located in west-central Kansas (including 18 on the Colorado-Kansas border), and 29 are located in southwest Kansas.

The economy of Kansas counties

In addition to the state capital, Topeka, Shawnee County has the largest population in Kansas. The following is a list of the 10 most populous Kansas counties according to the 2010 United States Census.

1. Shawnee County – 177,934
2. Johnson County – 544,179
3. Wyandotte County – 161,083
4. Sedgwick County – 498,365
5. Miami County – 32,787
6. Franklin County – 25,992
7. Douglas County – 110,826
8. Geary County – 34,362
9. Harper County – 637
10. Reno County – 64,511

The demographics of Kansas counties

As of 2019, there are 105 counties in the U.S. state of Kansas. The FIPS county code is the five-digit Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code which uniquely identifies counties and county equivalents in the United States. The three-digit number is unique to each individual county within a state, but to be unique within the entire United States, it must be prefixed by the two-digit code for the state in which it lies, such as 06 for California, 08 for Colorado, 23 for Maine, 39 for Ohio, 46 for South Dakota or 55 for Wisconsin.

According to the 2010 census, the total population of Kansas was 2,853,118 people living in 105 counties. These counties contained 1,381 cities with a combined population of 759,397 people; 16 of these cities had populations over 10,000 people while 5 had populations over 100,000 people. The average population density of Kansas was 35 people per square mile (13 per square kilometer).

The culture of Kansas counties

Kansas has 105 counties, the sixth-highest total of any state. The average county in Kansas has a population of just under 3,000 people, and the largest county, Johnson County, is home to more than 550,000 people.

Kansas counties are divided into two types: those with a population of more than 2,500 people and those with a population of less than 2,500 people. There are 94 counties in the first category and 11 in the second. The majority of Kansas counties have between 500 and 1,000 people.

Kansas is also home to two of the nation’s largest cities: Wichita and Kansas City. Wichita is the largest city in Kansas with a population of nearly 400,000 people. Kansas City is the second-largest city with a population of just under 200,000 people.

The attractions of Kansas counties

Did you know that there are 105 counties in the state of Kansas? That’s right, 105! each with its own attractions and things to do. No matter where you are in the state, you’re never far from a county fair, live music, a museum or the great outdoors.

Here’s a quick guide to some of the top attractions you’ll find in Kansas counties:

-The Sedgwick County Zoo is one of the largest zoos in the United States and is home to more than 2,500 animals from 500 different species.
-The Johnson County Museum offers guests a chance to view artifacts and exhibits that tell the story of early settlers in Kansas.
-The Halstead Public Library is one of the busiest libraries in the state and offers a variety of programs and events for all ages.
-The Reno County Courthouse is a historic landmark that was built in 1888 and is still used today as a courthouse and government office building.
-The McPherson Museum & Arts Foundation is a nonprofit organization that operates a museum and art gallery which features rotating exhibits of local, regional, and national significance.

The infrastructure of Kansas counties

Kansas has 105 counties. The largest county by population is Johnson County, which has over 584,000 residents. The smallest county by population is Greeley County, with just 1,248 residents.

The government of Kansas counties

As of January 1, 2009, there are 105 counties in the state of Kansas. The cities and counties of Kansas are units of local government. The state does not have primary or secondary civil divisions such as cities, boroughs, or non-management municipalities. Although the term “city” is used interchangeably with “town” throughout most of the United States, they are statutory entities with different functions in Kansas.

The future of Kansas counties

There are currently 105 counties in Kansas. However, this number may change in the future as some counties are considering consolidation or annexation. For example, in early 2019, the commissioners of Phillips and Smith counties began exploring the possibility of consolidating their counties. If this consolidation is approved, it would reduce the number of Kansas counties to 104.

Scroll to Top