How Many Hours Can a Minor Work in Kansas?

If you’re a minor in Kansas, you may be wondering how many hours you can legally work. The answer depends on a few factors, including your age and what type of work you’re doing. Here’s a rundown of the laws governing work hours for minors in Kansas.

Checkout this video:

Employment of Minors

The Kansas Child Labor laws protect minors by placing restrictions on the types and hours of work that may be performed. State law is designed to strike a balance between the need of young people to earn money and their need to attend school. These laws are also designed to protect minors from being exploited by adults in the workforce.

Kansas Child Labor Laws

The Kansas Child Labor Program (KCLP) in the Department of Labor enforces the child labor laws in Kansas. These laws are designed to protect working youth by regulating the hours and types of employment they may perform.

There are general hour restrictions for 14- and 15-year-olds and 16- and 17-year-olds working in non-agricultural jobs. Youths under 18 years of age may not work in certain hazardous occupations.

Special rules apply to 14- and 15-year olds employed as lifeguards, in entertainment, performing door-to-door sales, or delivering newspapers. Youths under 16 years of age who work for their parents’ sole proprietorship business are also covered by special rules limiting the hours they may work.

Youths ages 16 and 17 may not be employed in certain occupations declared hazardous by the U.S. Secretary of Labor unless they have completed an approved training program or received a certificate declaring them to be mature enough to perform the work safely.

Federal Child Labor Laws

Federal child labor laws are enforced by the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor. These laws set the minimum age for employment as well as the conditions under which minors may be employed.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) at 29 U.S.C., 203(l), sets forth the general rule that no one under the age of 18 may be employed in an occupation considered to be Hazardous to their health or safety as determined by the Secretary of Labor.

There are, however, a number of exceptions to this general rule. These include:
-Minors that are employed by their parents or guardians in non-hazardous occupations;
-Minors that are employed in agricultural occupations that have been exempted by the Secretary of Labor; and
-Minors that are employed in a variety of other occupations that have been determined to be Non-Hazardous by the Secretary of Labor.

In order for a minor to be employed in one of these exempt occupations, they must first obtain a work permit from their state or local government entity authorized to issue them. The work permit must then be presented to their employer prior to starting work.

How Many Hours Can a Minor Work in Kansas?

The Kansas Department of Labor has set restrictions on the number of hours that a minor may work. Minors under the age of 16 may not work more than 3 hours per day on a school day, more than 18 hours per week when school is in session, or more than 40 hours per week when school is not in session.

Permissible Hours of Work for Minors 14 and 15 Years of Age

Minors who are 14 and 15 years of age may not work more than:
-3 hours on a school day;
-18 hours in a school week;
-8 hours on a non-school day;
-40 hours in a non-school week; or
-Between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., except from June 1 through Labor Day, when they may work until 9 p.m.

Permissible Hours of Work for Minors 16 and 17 Years of Age

In Kansas, minors 16 and 17 years of age may work for unlimited hours in any occupation other than manufacturing or mining. In addition, there are no hour restrictions for Minor 16 and 17 year olds working in businesses wholly owned by their parents or guardians.

Exceptions to the Rule

In general, fourteen and fifteen year olds cannot work more than three hours per day and eighteen hours per week when school is in session. There are some exceptions to this rule, however. If a minor has been emancipated, or if they are married, they are not subject to these limitations.

Agricultural Employment

The following information is taken from the Kansas Child Labor Handbook published by the Kansas Department of Labor.
While 14 is the minimum age for most employment, 12 year olds may work in certain occupations in agriculture under certain conditions. These include picking fruit; mushrooms; and other farm product grown for human consumption; on a farm not owned or operated for profit if agricultural duties make up less than half of the minor’s total weekly hours worked; and if parental consent is given. In addition, agricultural employment of children under 16 is allowed during summer months if they are not required to work more than 40 hours per week or more than 8 hours per day.

Entertainment Employment

There are a few exceptions to the general work hour rules for minors. If a minor is employed as an actor or performer in motion pictures, theatrical, radio, or television productions, they may work:
-No more than 8 hours in any day
-No more than 40 hours in any week
-Between the hours of 5 a.m. and 10 p.m., except on Fridays and Saturdays when the time limit is extended to 12:30 a.m.

Minors who are employed as models or performers in still photographs or live shows (such as theater, dance, or musical performances) may work:
-No more than 8 hours in any day
-No more than 40 hours in any week
-Between the hours of 5 a.m. and 10 p.m., except on Fridays and Saturdays when the time limit is extended to 12:30 a.m.

Newspaper Delivery

An employer may not employ a minor under 14 years of age to deliver newspapers to consumers. A minor who is 14 or 15 years of age may deliver newspapers to consumers only if the delivery:
-is made on foot or by bicycle;
-does not involve more than three hours of work per day;
-does not involve work before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m.;
-is not carried out during the minor’s school hours (if the minor is required by law to attend school); and
-is not carried out during the hours when the minor is required to be at home as specified by law or by the rules of a juvenile court or other court with jurisdiction over the minor.

Scroll to Top