How Many National Championships Has Kansas Won?

A complete list of Kansas Jayhawks national championships in every sport, including basketball, football, and more.

Checkout this video:


Kansas has won four national championships in basketball. The first came in 1952 under head coach Phog Allen. The Jayhawks defeated St. John’s in the championship game, 77-54. The second championship came in 1988 under head coach Larry Brown. The Jayhawks defeated Oklahoma in the championship game, 83-79. The third championship came in 2008 under head coach Bill Self. The Jayhawks defeated Memphis in the championship game, 75-68, in overtime. The fourth and most recent championship came in 2012 under head coach Bill Self. The Jayhawks defeated Kentucky in the championship game, 67-59.

National Championships

Kansas has won a total of 27 national championships. 12 of these championships are in men’s basketball, and 1 is in football. The Jayhawks also have 3 national championships in baseball, and 2 in women’s basketball.

NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball

Kansas has won 3 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships:

NCAA Division I Football

The Jayhawks have won 60 conference championships, including 32 in basketball, 14 in football, and 9 in baseball. They have also won five national championships: three in men’s basketball (1922, 1988, 2008) and two in football (1948, 1952).

Kansas Jayhawks

The Kansas Jayhawks are a NCAA Division I men’s basketball team. They are a charter member of the Big 12 Conference. The Jayhawks have won five NCAA Division I men’s basketball championships, which is tied for fourth most in history. They have also won eighteen conference championships, which is the most of any team in the Big 12.

Men’s Basketball

The Kansas Jayhawks men’s basketball program is the intercollegiate men’s basketball program of the University of Kansas. It is one of the oldest and is one of the most successful programs in NCAA Division I history. The program is classified in the NCAA’s Division I and competes in the Big 12 Conference.

Kansas has appeared in a record-tying 31 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships – including 24 consecutive appearances – appearing in 16 Final Fours, and winning two NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships (1952, 1988).Kansas also shares a portion of a third championship win (1972) with UC Santa Barbara and features two more national title game appearances (1940, 1957). The Jayhawks are second only to UCLA in total number of consecutive Final Four appearances with 16. This streak is currently the longest active streak of consecutive Final Four appearances. Every four-year span between 1934 and 2021 has featured at least one Final Four appearance by Kansas.

Kansas also leads all schools with 97 Sweet Sixteen appearances, including 31 straight seasons from 1990 to 2020 (a currently active streak), while trailing only Kentucky in total number of Elite Eight appearances with 36, including 20 straight seasons from 1991 to 2020 (a currently active streak).


Kansas has won 3 national championships in football. The first came in 1908, when the Jayhawks defeated the University of Pennsylvania 9-0 in the inaugural Orange Bowl. The second came in1920, when Kansas defeated UCLA 14-0 in the Rose Bowl. The third and most recent national championship came in 2018, when Kansas defeated Clemson 10-3 in the College Football Playoff semifinals.


In total, Kansas has won 52 NCAA Division I National Championships. This includes 27 team championships and 25 individual championships.

Scroll to Top