How Many National Titles Does Kansas Have?

Kansas has won a total of 52 national championships in college athletics, including 27 in men’s basketball, 14 in women’s basketball, and 11 in men’s cross country.

Checkout this video:

Kansas Jayhawks

The Kansas Jayhawks are a Division I college basketball team that competes in the Big 12 Conference. The Jayhawks are one of the most successful programs in college basketball history, with five national titles and over thirty conference championships.

Men’s Basketball

Kansas has won 3 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships (1952, 1988, and 2008). They have also been runners-up 5 times, in 1940, 1953, 1957, 1971, and 1974.


Although the Jayhawks have a long and storied history in college football, they have only won a handful of national titles. Kansas’ first national title came in 1908, when they were crowned champions by the Helms Athletic Foundation. They would go on to win another national title in 1920, this time being named champions by the Billingsley Report.

The Jayhawks’ most recent national title came in 2007, when they were once again named champions by the Helms Athletic Foundation. This made Kansas the first team to ever win three different national championships from three different organizations. Kansas has also won numerous conference championships throughout their history, with their most recent coming in 2016.

National Titles

Kansas has one of the most storied programs in college basketball history. The Jayhawks have won 3 NCAA National Championships, in 1952, 1988, and 2008. They have also been to the Final Four 14 times, the most of any team in the history of the NCAA.

Men’s Basketball

Kansas has 3 National Titles in Men’s Basketball.

1952 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament
1988 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament
2008 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament


Kansas has won 3 national championships in football. The first came in 1920, when the Jayhawks went 8-0-1 under coach Forrest Custer. The second championship came in 1948, when Kansas went 11-0 under coach George Sauer. The most recent championship came in 2007, when the Jayhawks went 12-1 under coach Mark Mangino.

Scroll to Top