How Many NCAA Championships Has Kansas Won?

A comprehensive look at how many NCAA Championships the Jayhawks have won throughout their storied history.

Checkout this video:


Since the NCAA began hosting national championships in basketball in 1939, the Kansas Jayhawks have won 3 championships. The Jayhawks first won the championship in 1952, led by star player Clyde Lovellette. Kansas’ most recent championship came in 2008, when they defeated Memphis in the finals.

Kansas’ NCAA Championships

Kansas has won four NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships. The Jayhawks’ first championship came in 1952 under head coach Phog Allen. The Jayhawks then won championships in 1988, 2008, and 2012. All four of Kansas’ championships have come under head coach Bill Self.

Men’s Basketball

Kansas has won 3 NCAA Division I men’s basketball championships (1952, 1988, 2008).

Women’s Basketball

The Jayhawks have won 3 NCAA championships in women’s basketball. They won the championship in 1991, 1993, and 2002.

Men’s Cross Country

Kansas has not won a men’s cross country national championship.

Women’s Cross Country

Kansas has won 3 NCAA championships in women’s cross country.

Men’s Golf

Kansas has won five NCAA men’s golf championships. The Jayhawks won their most recent championship in 2019.

Women’s Gymnastics

Kansas has won a total of six NCAA championships in women’s gymnastics, the most recent being in 2015. The Jayhawks have also appeared in the NCAA tournament 29 times and have made it to the finals 10 times.

Men’s Indoor Track and Field

Kansas has won a total of 6 NCAA Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championships. Below is a list of the years they won:

– 1931
– 1932
– 1933
– 1934
– 1935
– 1936

Women’s Indoor Track and Field

The Kansas Jayhawks women’s indoor track and field team has won five NCAA championships. The first came in 1974, followed by titles in 1976, 1977, 1978, and 1979.

Men’s Outdoor Track and Field

The Kansas Jayhawks have won a total of 10 NCAA championships in men’s outdoor track and field, the most recent being in 2009. Other notable championship seasons include 2001, when the Jayhawks won 3 NCAA titles, and 2007, when they won 2.

Women’s Outdoor Track and Field

Kansas has won the women’s outdoor track and field NCAA championship a total of four times. The Jayhawks won their first championship in 1985, followed by three consecutive titles from 1987-1989.


Rowing is the oldest intercollegiate sport in the United States. Kansas has won two NCAA National Championships in rowing. The first was in 1995 and the second was in 1997.


Kansas has not won an NCAA championship in soccer.


Kansas has won the NCAA Division I Women’s Softball Championship a total of four times. The Jayhawks first won the title in 1981, and then again in 1982, 1983, and 1984.

Swimming and Diving

Kansas has won a total of 24 NCAA Championships, most recently in 2019. 14 of those championships have come in men’s swimming and diving, with the Jayhawks claiming titles in 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2002 and 2001.


Kansas has not traditionally been a powerhouse in tennis, but the Jayhawks have still managed to snag a few NCAA titles over the years. The school won its first and only NCAA team championship in 1901, when it defeated California in the finals. Individually, Kansas has also won a number of NCAA championships. In total, Jayhawk tennis players have claimed 10 singles titles and 13 doubles crowns.


In 1981, the Jayhawks defeated Iowa State in the AIAW Volleyball Championship to capture their first national title in any sport. Kansas went on to win the NCAA volleyball championship in 1983 and 1986, becoming the first school in NCAA history to win both the AIAW and NCAA volleyball championships. The Jayhawks have made eight total appearances in the NCAA volleyball championship, with their most recent appearance coming in 1995.


Since the beginning of the NCAA tournament in 1939, Kansas has won 3 championships, most recently in 2008. They have also been to the Final Four 14 times, more than any other team in the history of the tournament.

Scroll to Top