How Many Super Bowls Do the Kansas City Chiefs Have?

The answer may surprise you – the Chiefs have won two Super Bowls, most recently in 2020.

Checkout this video:


The Kansas City Chiefs are a professional American football team based in Kansas City, Missouri. The Chiefs compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s American Football Conference (AFC) West division. The team was founded in 1960 as the Dallas Texans by businessman Lamar Hunt and was a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). In 1963, the team relocated to Kansas City, Missouri, and assumed their current name. The Chiefs joined the NFL as a result of the AFL–NFL merger in 1970. The team is valued at over $2 billion. Hunt’s son, Clark, serves as chairman and CEO.

The team has had 37 head coaches in franchise history, four of which— Hank Stram, Marv Levy, Dick Vermeil, and Marty Schottenheimer— have won NFL Coach of the Year honors. Four former assistants have been head coach for other NFL teams: Sid Gillman, Wade Phillips, husband-and-wife duo Gunther Cunningham and Leslie Frazier, and Romeo Crennel. The franchise has had 27 starting quarterbacks (QB)s in its 60-year history; they have never had two starting quarterbacks for more than four consecutive regular season games.

As of 2019, the Chiefs have appeared in ten AFC Championship Games (second most in the conference) and won one Super Bowl title (IV).

The Kansas City Chiefs’ Super Bowl wins

The Kansas City Chiefs have won two Super Bowls in their history. The first one came in 1970 when they defeated the Minnesota Vikings. The second came in 2019 when they defeated the San Francisco 49ers.

Super Bowl I

The Chiefs entered the 1966 season as defending American Football League (AFL) champions, having defeated the Buffalo Bills 31–7 in the 1965 AFL Championship Game. They finished the regular season with a franchise-best 11–2–1 record. In the playoffs, they defeated the Buffalo Bills once again, 30–7. The Chiefs then went on to defeat the linebacker-led Green Bay Packers 35-10 in Super Bowl I.

Super Bowl IV

The Kansas City Chiefs won Super Bowl IV on January 11, 1970. The game was played at the Miami Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida. The Chiefs defeated the Minnesota Vikings by a score of 23-7. This was the Chiefs’ first and only Super Bowl win.

The Kansas City Chiefs’ Super Bowl losses

The Kansas City Chiefs have a long history of Super Bowl losses. In total, the Chiefs have lost eight Super Bowls. The first Super Bowl the Chiefs lost was Super Bowl I in 1967. Since then, the Chiefs have lost Super Bowls IV, L, and LI.

Super Bowl II

The Kansas City Chiefs lost to the Green Bay Packers 35-10 in Super Bowl II. This was the Packers’ second consecutive Super Bowl victory, and saw them become the first team to win back-to-back titles in the Super Bowl era. The game was played on January 14, 1968, at the Miami Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida.

Super Bowl III

In Super Bowl III, the New York Jets defeated the Baltimore Colts 16-7. Jets quarterback Joe Namath famously guaranteed a victory over the Colts, who were then 18-point favorites. The game is considered one of the greatest upsets in not only NFL history, but in all of sports.


The Chiefs have won two Super Bowls in their history. They won their first Super Bowl in 1970, and their second in 2019.

Scroll to Top