How Many Super Bowls Have the Kansas City Chiefs Won?

The Kansas City Chiefs have won two Super Bowls in their history. They won their first Super Bowl in 1970 and their second Super Bowl in 2019.

Checkout this video:


The Kansas City Chiefs are a professional American football team based in Kansas City, Missouri. The Chiefs compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s American Football Conference (AFC) West division. The team was founded in 1960 as the Dallas Texans by businessman Lamar Hunt and was a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). In 1963, the team relocated to Kansas City and assumed their current name. The Chiefs joined the NFL as a result of the AFL–NFL merger in 1970. The team is valued at over $2 billion.

The Kansas City Chiefs’ Super Bowl Wins

The Kansas City Chiefs have won two Super Bowls, both of which were against the Minnesota Vikings. The first Super Bowl was in 1970, and the second was in 2019.

Super Bowl I

On January 15, 1967, the Kansas City Chiefs defeated the Green Bay Packers 35-10 in the first ever Super Bowl. The game was broadcast on both CBS and NBC.

Super Bowl IV

The Kansas City Chiefs won Super Bowl IV on January 11, 1970. The game was played at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Chiefs defeated the Minnesota Vikings by a score of 23-7. This was the Chiefs’ first and only Super Bowl win.

The Kansas City Chiefs’ Super Bowl Losses

The Kansas City Chiefs have won 3 Super Bowls (I, IV, and LIV). They have lost 2 Super Bowls (II and XLIX).

Super Bowl II

The Chiefs lost the first Super Bowl to the Green Bay Packers 35-10. Len Dawson was named the game’s MVP, but it was a disappointing performance overall for the team.

Super Bowl IV is often considered one of the most important games in NFL history. It was the last game before the AFL-NFL merger and it cemented the Kansas City Chiefs as one of the league’s premier teams. The team lost to the Minnesota Vikings 23-7, but they proved that they could compete with any team in the league.

Super Bowl III

The Kansas City Chiefs lost Super Bowl III to the New York Jets in one of the biggest upsets in NFL history. The Jets were 18-point underdogs, but they dominated the game from start to finish, winning 16-7. The Chiefs’ only touchdown came on a one-yard run by Mike Garrett in the fourth quarter.


The Kansas City Chiefs have won 2 Super Bowls, the most recent being in 1970.

Scroll to Top