You can find out How Much Does It Cost To Register A Car In Kansas by visiting the Kansas DMV website.
Checkout this video:
Depending on the type of vehicle you own, the amount of money you pay to register your car in Kansas may vary slightly. Nevertheless, all motorists must complete this process in order to operate their vehicles legally on state roads. In this guide, we will discuss the steps involved in car registration as well as provide an estimated cost breakdown so that you know what to expect.
The Cost of Registering a Car in Kansas
The cost of registering a car in Kansas is based on the value of the vehicle. The minimum amount you will pay is $30, and the maximum is $196. If you have a leased vehicle, the fees are different. The cost also goes up if you want to personalized license plates.
The Base Registration Fee
The base registration fee for a passenger vehicle is $39. You will also have to pay an annual surcharge of $10, for a total of $49.
The cost of registering a car in Kansas is $40 for the first time. If you renew your registration within 60 days of your expiration date, you will only need to pay $20. If you renew your registration more than 60 days after your expiration date, the full fee of $40 will be required.
License Plate Fees
In Kansas, you must have your vehicle’s license plates and registration paperwork in order to operate it on public roads. You can register your car either online or in person at your local county treasurer’s office. The cost of registering a car in Kansas is $39 for passenger vehicles, $33 for motorcycles, and $24 for trailers. This fee includes the cost of the license plate itself as well as the title and registration fees. If you choose to register your vehicle online, there is an additional convenience fee of $5.
Personalized License Plate Fees
If you want a personalized license plate for your vehicle in Kansas, you’ll need to pay a one-time fee of $40. In addition, you’ll need to pay a yearly renewal fee of $30.
Special License Plate Fees
In Kansas, you have the option of choosing a standard license plate or a special license plate for an additional fee. The standard fee for a Kansas license plate is $8.50, while the additional fees for special license plates vary depending on the type of plate. Here are some examples of special license plates and their associated fees:
-Disabled Person License Plate: $15
-Organ Donor License Plate: $10
-Military Veteran License Plate: $8
-Personalized License Plate: $50
Replacement License Plate Fees
If you need to replace your license plate, the cost will be $5. If you need to replace your license plate and decal, the cost will be $10.
Vehicle Property Tax
All Kansas vehicles must be registered with the Division of Vehicles in order to operate on public roadways. The amount of time that your registration will be valid depends on your vehicle type – cars are valid for one year, while buses and trucks are valid for two years. You will need to renew your registration before it expires, or you may face penalties.
The cost to register a car in Kansas is $40 for a one-year registration and $80 for a two-year registration. If you are renewing your registration, you will need to pay an additional $10 late fee. In addition to the registration fee, you will also be required to pay a vehicle property tax. The amount of tax you pay is based on the value of your vehicle.
If you have recently moved to Kansas and have a vehicle registered in another state, you will need to register it within 30 days of moving. To do so, you will need to submit proof of insurance, a form of identification, and the out-of-state registration certificate.
To summarize, it costs around $45 to $95 to register your car in Kansas, depending on the county you live in and the type of vehicle you have. Be sure to check with your local DMV for specific fees and requirements.