Speeding is a serious offense in Kansas. If you are caught speeding, you will most likely receive a ticket. The amount of the ticket will vary depending on how fast you were going and the circumstances surrounding your offense.
Checkout this video:
How Much Is a Speeding Ticket in Kansas?
Speeding tickets in Kansas can range from $35 to over $1000. The amount you pay will depend on how fast you were going, how many points you have on your license, and whether or not you have had any other moving violations in the past year. If you are caught speeding in a school zone or construction zone, you will likely have to pay a higher fine.
The Cost of a Speeding Ticket in Kansas
The cost of a speeding ticket in Kansas will vary depending on how fast you were going, how many points you have on your license, and whether or not this is your first offense. The base fine for speeding in Kansas is $40, but it can be as high as $500 for excessive speeding. If you are caught speeding in a school zone or construction zone, the fines are doubled. You will also have to pay a court fee of $45-$85, and your insurance rates will go up.
The Fine for Speeding in Kansas
The fine for speeding in Kansas is $60 for speeds up to 10 mph over the posted limit, $75 for speeding 11-15 mph over the limit, and $90 for speeding 16-20 mph over the limit. The fine increases to $105 for speeds 21-25 mph over the limit, and $120 for speeding 26 mph or more over the limit. If you’re caught speeding in a school zone, the fine is double.
The Cost of Insurance After a Speeding Ticket in Kansas
If you’ve recently been caught speeding in Kansas, you may be wondering how much a speeding ticket will cost you. And, more importantly, how much your insurance rates will go up.
While the cost of a speeding ticket in Kansas varies depending on the county in which you were caught and how fast you were going, the average cost of a speeding ticket is $153. And, if you were caught going over 20 mph over the speed limit, you can expect to pay a fine of $203.
As for insurance rates, unfortunately, there is no one-size-fits-all answer. Depending on your insurer and your driving record, your rates could go up anywhere from 10% to 100%. If you have any other accidents or violations on your record, that could also negatively impact your rates.
The best way to find out how much your specific speeding ticket will cost you is to contact your insurer and ask. They will be able to give you an estimate based on your driving history and the details of your policy.
How to Pay a Speeding Ticket in Kansas
If you’ve been caught speeding in Kansas, you may be wondering how to pay your speeding ticket. You have a few options, and the one you choose will depend on your personal circumstances. You can pay online, by mail, or in person. You can also choose to contest your ticket. We’ll go over all your options so you can decide what’s best for you.
You can pay your speeding ticket online through the Kansas court system’s website. You’ll need to enter your case number, which is located on the top left-hand side of your ticket. You’ll also need to enter your driver’s license number and date of birth. Once you’ve entered this information, you’ll be able to pay your ticket using a credit or debit card.
If you choose to pay your speeding ticket by mail, you should simply complete the paperwork that was sent to you with your citation and return it to the address indicated. Be sure to include a check or money order for the full amount of your fine, as well as any additional fees required. You may also be able to pay your ticket online, depending on the county in which you received your citation.
You can pay your speeding ticket in person at your local courthouse. When you pay your ticket, you are pleading guilty to the charges and will be required to pay the full amount of the fine. You may also be required to complete a defensive driving course.
How to Fight a Speeding Ticket in Kansas
If you have ever gotten a speeding ticket, you know how expensive and frustrating they can be. Depending on how fast you were going, a speeding ticket in Kansas can cost you anywhere from $75 to $1000. If you are caught speeding in a school zone, the fine is doubled. But there is some good news. You can fight your ticket and possibly get it dismissed.
Hiring an Attorney
When it comes to deciding whether to hire an attorney, there is no simple answer. It depends on the facts of your case, your speeding ticket history, and most importantly, your comfort level with handling the process on your own. If you have never been in trouble with the law before, or if you have only received a handful of speeding tickets, it is probably not worth the expense of hiring an attorney. However, if you have a long history of speeding tickets or this is a serious offense, it might be in your best interest to hire legal representation.
The bottom line is that hiring an attorney will give you the best chance of winning your case, but it is not a guarantee. If you cannot afford to hire an attorney or do not feel comfortable handling the case on your own, there are still some options available to you.
Going to Court
The next step is to go to court. You will be able to plead your case to the judge and potentially have the charges against you dropped or reduced. If you plan on going to court, it is important to dress appropriately and be respectful to the judge.