How Much Weed Is a Felony in Kansas?

A look at how much weed is a felony in Kansas, and what the penalties are for possession of marijuana.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

In Kansas, any possession of marijuana is considered a felony. The punishment for a first offense can range from probation to up to a year in prison, and the maximum penalty for a subsequent offense is up to three and a half years in prison. If you are caught selling marijuana, you can be sentenced to up to seven years in prison. If you are caught growing marijuana, you can be sentenced to up to seventeen years in prison.

Possession of Marijuana in Kansas

Possessing any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor in Kansas and is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. If you are caught with more than 25 grams of marijuana, it is considered a felony and is punishable by up to 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.

First Offense

Possession of any amount of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor in Kansas. The maximum punishment is six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Second Offense

Possession of any amount of marijuana is a felony in Kansas. A second offense is punishable by a fine of up to $250,000 and a prison sentence of up to 17 years.

Subsequent Offenses

In Kansas, possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. For a second possession offense, the penalties increase to a maximum of three years in jail and a $5,000 fine. A third possession offense is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Sale of Marijuana in Kansas

The sale of marijuana is a felony in Kansas. The penalties for selling marijuana are harsh, and the amount of weed you have in your possession can result in a lengthy prison sentence. If you are caught selling marijuana, you will be charged with a felony and face up to 20 years in prison.

First Offense

Sale of Marijuana in Kansas – A first offense is a Class B nonperson misdemeanor and is punishable by imprisonment of up to six months and a fine of up to $1,000.

Second Offense

If an individual is caught with any amount of marijuana a second time, it is considered a felony. The penalties are a fine of up to $100,000 and imprisonment for up to 17 years.

Subsequent Offenses

In Kansas, a person can be charged with a felony for possessing any amount of marijuana if they have previously been convicted of certain drug crimes. The penalties for a subsequent offense can be up to three and a half years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.

Possessing more than 700 grams of marijuana is also a felony in Kansas and is punishable by up to 17 years in prison and a fine of up to $300,000.

Cultivation of Marijuana in Kansas

Cultivation of Marijuana in Kansas is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not less than five years nor more than twenty years, and a fine of not less than $2,500 nor more than $25,000, unless such cultivation is for the personal use of the offender as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 21-5701, and amendments thereto.

First Offense

In the state of Kansas, the cultivation of marijuana is considered a felony offense. This means that if you are caught growing even a small amount of weed, you could be facing up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. The penalties become even more severe if you are caught growing marijuana for the purposes of selling it, as this is considered drug trafficking. If you are caught selling weed in Kansas, you could be facing up to 20 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.

Second Offense

A second offense for cultivation of marijuana in Kansas is a felony, punishable by up to 7 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.

Subsequent Offenses

If you have been convicted of a felony drug offense in the past, any subsequent conviction will be enhanced to a level 4 drug felony. The penalty for a level 4 drug felony is a fine of up to $100,000 and a prison sentence of 9-13 months. If you have been convicted of two or more prior felonies, you will be classified as a habitual offender and your prison sentence will be increased to 19-47 months.

Conclusion

In Kansas, possession of any amount of marijuana is a felony. The maximum sentence for possession is six months in jail and a $1,000 fine for first-time offenders. For subsequent offenses, the maximum sentence is two years in prison and a $2,500 fine. Felony charges can also be given for paraphernalia possession and cultivation.

Scroll to Top