The answer to this question might seem cut and dry, but there are a few things to consider before heading to your local gun store. In Kansas, the age requirement to purchase a handgun is 21, but there are some caveats.
Checkout this video:
In the state of Kansas, there is no minimum age requirement to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or ammunition. There are also no laws prohibiting the possession of firearms by minors. However, it is important to note that federal law prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from purchasing a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer. For more information on these and other gun laws in Kansas, see the sections below.
-Rifles, Shotguns, and Ammunition
In Kansas, there is no minimum age requirement to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or ammunition. There are also no laws prohibiting the possession of firearms by minors.
Federal law prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from purchasing a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer. In Kansas, it is also illegal to sell or otherwise transfer a handgun to someone under the age of 21. However, there are some exceptions to this law, such as if the transfer is between family members or for the purpose of self-defense.
The Federal Law
The Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act, which is also known as the Brady Bill, was signed into law on November 30, 1993 by President Bill Clinton. The bill requires a background check on individuals before they can purchase a firearm from a licensed dealer, manufacturer or importer. The age limit for buying a gun from these types of businesses is 21 years old. There are some states that have stricter laws, but the federal government has set the age limit at 21 years old.
Some people are able to buy guns through private sales, which are not regulated by the federal government. The laws vary from state to state, but in Kansas, there is no minimum age requirement to buy a gun from a private seller.
The State Law
In Kansas, the relevant statute governing the age to purchase a firearm is 21-4304. This law states that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 21 to possess a handgun. It is important to note that this statute applies only to handguns and not to other types of firearms such as rifles or shotguns. The punishment for violating this law is a Class A nonperson misdemeanor.
Exceptions to the Rule
There are a few exceptions to the rule that you must be 21 years old to buy a gun in Kansas. For example, active duty military personnel who are 18 years old or older are allowed to purchase firearms. In addition, people who are 18 years old or older are allowed to purchase long guns (rifles and shotguns) from private sellers.
In the state of Kansas, you must be 21 years of age or older to purchase a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer. If you are 18 years of age or older, you may purchase a rifle or shotgun from a licensed firearms dealer. If you are 18 years of age or younger, you may purchase a rifle or shotgun from a licensed firearms dealer if you have either (i) completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Attorney General OR (ii) obtained consent from your parent or guardian.