- Application Process
A complete guide on how to become a police officer in Kansas. The requirements, process, and tips on becoming a law enforcement officer in the state of Kansas.
Checkout this video:
You must be at least 21 years of age to become a Kansas police officer. You must also have a high school diploma or GED. You will need to have a clean criminal record and pass a background check. If you have any felonies on your record, you will not be eligible to become a police officer in Kansas.
To become a police officer in Kansas, you must be a U.S. citizen. You must also be at least 21 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. You will also need to pass a physical examination and a background check.
At least 21 years old
You must be at least 21 years old to become a police officer in Kansas. There is no maximum age limit.
Possess a high school diploma or GED
You must be a high school graduate or have completed the GED to become a police officer in Kansas. If you have attended college, you will need to have completed at least 64 credit hours with a minimum 2.0 GPA to be eligible for the position.
In Kansas, the journey to becoming a police officer starts with completing an online application. Along with the application, you will be asked to submit supporting documents. These include your birth certificate, high school diploma or GED, and a valid driver’s license. Once your application is complete, you will be contacted to schedule an appointment for the next steps in the process.
Complete an online application
Prospective police officers in Kansas must complete an online application through the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training (KS CPOST). Applicants must be at least 21 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and pass a criminal background check.
Submit required documents
In order to complete the application process, you will need to gather and submit the following documents:
-A completed application form
-A non-refundable application fee of $50
-A copy of your high school diploma or GED certificate
-A copy of your college transcripts (if applicable)
-A valid driver’s license
-A recent photograph
All of these items must be submitted in order to complete your application. Your application will not be processed until all required materials have been received.
Schedule and pass the written exam
Before you can move on to the next stage in becoming a police officer in Kansas, you need to pass the written exam. The written exam is given by appointment only at one of six locations throughout the state. Once you have scheduled your appointment, you will be given a list of required documents that you need to bring with you on the day of the exam. You will also be given a study guide to help you prepare for the test.
The written exam is a multiple-choice test that covers topics such as Kansas laws and regulations, community relations, patrol procedures, traffic control, and crime scene investigation. You will have two hours to complete the examination. A passing score on the written exam is 70%.
All applicants for police officer positions in Kansas must complete a training program that has been approved by the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training (CPOST). The program must be completed within one year of the date of hire.
Complete the police academy
Becoming a police officer in the state of Kansas requires completing a number of steps, including attending and graduating from a police academy. The curriculum of a typical police academy program includes academic coursework in law enforcement theory and practice, as well as physical training designed to prepare students for the rigors of the job.
In order to be accepted into a police academy program in Kansas, applicants must first meet the minimum qualifications set forth by the state, which include being at least 21 years old, holding a high school diploma or equivalent, and passing a background check. Once these requirements have been met, interested individuals can begin the process of applying to specific police academies.
During their time at a police academy, students will receive both classroom and on-the-job training in various aspects of law enforcement work. Upon successful completion of the program, graduates will be eligible to take the state certification exam and begin their careers as police officers in Kansas.
In order to become a police officer in the state of Kansas, you must first obtain a high school diploma or equivalent. Once you have done so, you must then complete an accredited law enforcement academy program. After you have successfully completed the academy, you will then need to take and pass the Kansas state certification exam.
Complete the field training program
After you have completed the police academy, you will be assigned to a Field Training Officer (FTO) for on-the-job training. The FTO program is usually four to six months long, and you will work with different FTOs during that time. During the field training program, you will learn practical applications of what you learned at the police academy.
Pass the final certification exam
Before you can work as a police officer in Kansas, you must pass a final certification examination. The examination is administered by the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training (KS CPOST).