How to Become a Private Investigator in Kansas

Follow these steps to become a licensed private investigator in Kansas.

Checkout this video:

Private Investigator Requirements in Kansas

The requirements to become a licensed private investigator in Kansas are set forth by the Kansas Board of Private Investigators and Agricultural Commodity Dealers.

In order to be eligible for a license, an applicant must:
-Be at least 21 years of age
-Have at least two years of experience as a licensed investigator or in a closely related field, such as law enforcement
-Submit to a criminal background check
-Successfully complete an approved training course

How to Get Licensed as a Private Investigator in Kansas

Private investigators in Kansas must have a license in order to work in the state. The requirements to obtain a license are set by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age, have a high school diploma or GED, and have no felony convictions.

In addition, applicants must complete a training course approved by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation and pass an examination. Once licensed, private investigators in Kansas must renew their license every two years.

The Application Process for a Private Investigator License in Kansas

To qualify for a private investigator license in Kansas, applicants must:

-Be at least 21 years of age
-Have at least two years of experience working in the field of criminal justice or a related field
-Submit an application to the Kansas Board of Private Investigators
-Pass a written examination administered by the Board
-Pay a nonrefundable application fee of $200

Fees and Renewals for a Kansas Private Investigator License

To become a licensed Private Investigator in the state of Kansas, you must first submit a written application to the Secretary of State’s office. With your application, you will need to include:
-A $200 application fee
-A $50 renewal fee (every two years)
-A notarized statement attesting to your good character
-A set of fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency

Upon receipt of your completed application and fees, the Secretary of State’s office will conduct a background check. If you pass the background check, you will be issued a Kansas Private Investigator license.

Private Investigator Training Programs in Kansas

Private investigator training programs in Kansas typically last between 8 and 16 weeks. Although there are no specific educational requirements to become a private investigator in Kansas, many PIs choose to complete a training program to learn the skills and knowledge necessary to be successful in the field. Private investigator training programs cover topics such as investigation techniques, surveillance methods, interviewing techniques, report writing, and legal aspects of private investigation. Many programs also include an internship component, which gives students the opportunity to gain real-world experience.

Private Investigator Jobs in Kansas

In Kansas, the decision to become a private investigator is one that many people make every year. There are several reasons why people decide to pursue this career, but the most common reason is that they want to help others. After all, a private investigator’s main job is to gather information and use it to help their clients. If you think that this sounds like something you would like to do, then read on to learn about how you can become a private investigator in Kansas.

The Future of Private Investigation in Kansas

The future of private investigation in Kansas is both promising and exciting. With the industry expected to grow significantly in the coming years, there is no better time than now to become a private investigator in Kansas.

There are many reasons why private investigation is such a promising and exciting career choice, but perhaps the most important reason is that private investigators play an essential role in ensuring justice is served. In a state like Kansas, where crime rates are relatively low, the demand for private investigators is likely to be even higher.

If you are interested in becoming a private investigator in Kansas, there are a few things you need to know. First and foremost, you must be licensed by the state of Kansas. To obtain a license, you must pass an exam that covers both the general concepts of private investigation as well as the specific laws of Kansas. The exam can be taken online or through a traditional brick-and-mortar school.

Once you have passed the exam and obtained your license, you will need to find a job with a private investigation firm. There are many different types of firms, so it is important to find one that specializes in the type of work you are interested in doing. For instance, if you are interested in working on criminal cases, you will want to find a firm that specializes in that area.

The future of private investigation in Kansas is both promising and exciting. With the industry expected to grow significantly in the coming years, there is no better time than now to become a private investigator in Kansas.

Frequently Asked Questions about Private Investigation in Kansas

What are the requirements to become a private investigator in Kansas?
-You must be at least 21 years old
-You must have a clean criminal record
-You must have a high school diploma or equivalent
-You must complete a training program approved by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation

How long does it take to become a licensed private investigator in Kansas?
-It usually takes 4-6 months to complete the training program and obtain a license.

What are the duties of a private investigator in Kansas?
Private investigators in Kansas are responsible for conducting investigations into criminal activity, civil disputes, and missing persons. They may also be asked to provide security services or executive protection.

Helpful Resources for Private Investigators in Kansas

There are a few things private investigators in Kansas should know before starting their careers. First, it is important to be aware of the resources available to help you get started and stay informed. The Private Investigator’s Licensing Handbook, published by the Kansas Board of Private Investigators and Security Agencies, is a great place to start. This Handbook provides an overview of the licensing process and requirements in Kansas, as well as general information about the private investigator profession.

The Kansas Association of Licensed Investigators (KALI) is another great resource for private investigators in Kansas. KALI is a non-profit professional association that promotes excellence in the field of investigations through education and networking opportunities. KALI membership benefits include access to Continuing Education courses, discounts on investigation products and services, and networking opportunities with other professionals in the field.

The International Association of Private Investigators (IAPI) is also a valuable resource for private investigators in Kansas. IAPI is a global organization that provides members with access to resources, training, and networking opportunities. IAPI membership benefits include access to online resources, discounts on investigative products and services, and invitations to attend conferences and seminars around the world.

In order to become a licensed private investigator in Kansas, you must first complete an accredited training program. Once you have completed your training, you will need to pass a written exam administered by the Kansas Board of Private Investigators and Security Agencies. After passing the exam, you will be required to submit an application for licensing, along with fingerprints and a background check. For more information on becoming a licensed private investigator in Kansas, please contact theKansas Board of Private Investigators and Security Agencies or visit their website at www.kspiaeigencyboard.org .

Kansas Private Investigator License Reciprocity

As a professional licensed investigator in another state, you may qualify for a Kansas private investigator license through reciprocity. The requirements and process for reciprocity vary from state to state, so it’s important to research the requirements of the state in which you wish to become licensed.

In order to apply for a Kansas private investigator license through reciprocity, you must have been licensed as a professional investigator in good standing in another state for at least two years. You must also have completed eight hours of continuing education within the past two years.

To apply for a Kansas private investigator license through reciprocity, you must submit the following to the Kansas Board of Private Investigators:
-A completed application form
-A $200 application fee
-A copy of your current professional investigator license from another state
-Proof of completion of eight hours of continuing education within the past two years

Scroll to Top