How to Claim Unemployment Benefits in Kansas

How to Claim Unemployment Benefits in Kansas – If you have lost your job or have had your hours cut back due to the COVID-19 pandemic, you may be eligible for unemployment benefits.

Checkout this video:

How to file for unemployment in Kansas

The first step in filing for unemployment benefits in Kansas is to gather all the necessary information and documentation. This includes your social security number, driver’s license or state ID, and contact information for your most recent employer. You will also need to be able to provide detailed information about your job, including your job title, duties, and dates of employment.

Once you have gathered all the required information, you can begin the claims process by calling the Kansas Unemployment Insurance Contact Center at 1-800-292-6333. You will be asked a series of questions about your eligibility for benefits and your current employment status. After you have completed the phone interview, you will be able to file an unemployment claim online or by mail.

It is important to remember that you must file your unemployment claim within 14 days of becoming unemployed. If you do not file within this time frame, you may not be eligible for benefits.

How to meet the eligibility requirements for unemployment in Kansas

To be eligible for unemployment benefits in Kansas, you must:

-Be totally or partially unemployed
-Have worked for an employer covered by the state’s unemployment insurance law
-Have earned enough wages during your base period to establish a claim
-Be able and available for work, and
-Be actively looking for work.

If you meet all of the eligibility requirements, you can file a claim for unemployment online at the Kansas Department of Labor website.

What information you will need to file for unemployment in Kansas

In order to file for unemployment in Kansas, you will need to provide:
-Your Social Security Number
-Your Driver’s License or State ID number
-The names, addresses and phone numbers of your previous employers for the last 18 months
-The start and end dates of your employment with each employer
-A bank routing number and account number, if you want to receive your benefits by direct deposit

How to continue to receive unemployment benefits in Kansas

unemployment benefits, kansas
You may continue to receive unemployment benefits as long as you:
-Are able and available to work.
-Are actively looking for work.
-You have not been disqualified from receiving benefits.
-Are not earning wages that would make you ineligible to receive benefits.

What to do if your unemployment claim is denied in Kansas

If you file an unemployment claim in Kansas and it is denied, you have the right to appeal the decision. The first step is to file a Request for Reconsideration within 10 days of receiving notification of the denial. You can do this online, by mail or in person at your local Department of Labor office.

If your request for reconsideration is denied, you can file an appeal with the Unemployment Insurance Appeals Tribunal. This must be done within 20 days of receiving notification of the denial. The appeals tribunal will hold a hearing, at which both you and representatives from the Department of Labor will have an opportunity to present evidence and testimony. The hearing will be held over the phone, and you will be able to participate from anywhere in the state.

If you are still not satisfied with the decision of the appeals tribunal, you can appeal to the Kansas Court of Appeals. This must be done within 30 days of receiving the tribunal’s decision.

It is important to remember that if you do not file your appeal within the prescribed time frame, you will forfeit your right to do so.

How to appeal a denial of unemployment benefits in Kansas

If you are denied unemployment benefits in Kansas, you may file an appeal within 14 days of the date on your denial notice.

To file an appeal, you must:
-Complete the “Request for Appeal” form located on the back of your denial notice.
-Mail or fax the completed form to the address or number listed on the form.
-Your appeal must be postmarked or received by fax no later than 14 days from the date on your denial notice.
-You will be scheduled for a telephone hearing with an Unemployment Insurance hearing officer. The hearing officer will review evidence and decide if you are eligible for unemployment benefits.
-You will be notified of the decision in writing.

How to file a complaint about unemployment in Kansas

Individuals who have lost their jobs in Kansas may be eligible for unemployment benefits. To file a claim, you will need to contact the Kansas Department of Labor (DOL). You can do this by phone or online.

To file a complaint about unemployment in Kansas, you can contact the DOL’s Office of Employment and Training. This office is responsible for investigating complaints about unemployment benefits.

How long you can receive unemployment benefits in Kansas

The amount of time that you can receive unemployment benefits in Kansas depends on how long you have been unemployed and the level of benefits to which you are entitled. The maximum amount of time that you can receive unemployment benefits in Kansas is 26 weeks.

How much you will receive in unemployment benefits in Kansas

The amount of unemployment benefits you will receive each week in Kansas is determined based on your past earnings. You must have earned at least a certain amount of money during a 12-month “base period” in order to be eligible for unemployment benefits. The base period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the date you filed your claim.

For example, if you file your claim on September 1, 2019, your base period would be April 1, 2018 – March 31, 2019. Only wages paid during this time period will be used to calculate your benefit amount.

The minimum amount you can receive in unemployment benefits in Kansas is $16 per week, and the maximum is $526 per week. If you have dependent children, you may be eligible for an additional $6 per child per week.

To calculate your exact benefit amount, multiply your total base period wages by .014 (or 14%). This gives you 1/70th of your total base period wages. Then divide that number by 52 (weeks in a year). This gives you an estimate of what you’ll receive in unemployment benefits each week in Kansas.

How to find a job after being unemployed in Kansas

If you’re unemployed and live in Kansas, you may be eligible for unemployment benefits. The amount of money you receive and the length of time you can collect unemployment benefits varies from state to state. To find out if you’re eligible for unemployment benefits, contact your state unemployment office.

Most states require that you actively look for work while receiving unemployment benefits. You may be asked to provide the names and addresses of the businesses where you’ve applied for a job. Some states will even provide job search assistance, such as job fairs and workshops.

If you need help finding a job, consider contacting your local American Job Center. The staff can assist with your resume, job search, and provide information on training opportunities. They may also have leads on jobs that aren’t being advertised publicly.

Scroll to Top