If you have lost the title to your vehicle in Kansas, you’ll need to file for a duplicate title with the state’s Division of Vehicles.
Checkout this video:
If you have lost your car title in Kansas, you’ll need to get a duplicate title from the state Department of Revenue (DOR). You’ll need to fill out a few forms and pay a fee. The whole process can be done by mail or in person at your local DOR office.
What You Will Need
To replace a lost title in Kansas, you will need to:
-Complete an Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title (Form TR-13A), available from your local DMV office or online at the Kansas DMV website.
-Submit the completed form, along with a $10 fee, to your local DMV office.
-If you have not yet received your registration card, you will also need to submit a $4.50 fee for that.
How to File for a Duplicate Title
Kansas law requires you to report a lost, stolen or destroyed vehicle title to your local sheriff’s office. You’ll then need to apply for a duplicate title from the Division of Vehicles (DOV).
##Heading:1. Gather the required documents
To get a duplicate title, you’ll need to complete an Application for Certified Copy of Title (Form DOV-108). If someone else will be applying for the duplicate on your behalf, they’ll also need to provide a signed Power of Attorney (Form TR-54).
In addition to the application and power of attorney, if your vehicle is financed, you’ll need to submit a Lien Holder Authorization Affidavit (Form TR-26A) from your lender.
You can mail these forms along with the processing fee of $20.50 to:
Division of Vehicles
Driver License Processing Unit
P.O. Box 2188
Topeka, KS 66601-2188
hand-deliver them to any full service DOV office. You can find your nearest location by visiting www.ksrevenue.org/locationsdovoffices.html
If you’re unable to print the forms from home or simply prefer not to mail them in, you can pick up the necessary paperwork from your local DOV office as well.
2. Get your car insurance policy information handy
Once you’ve reported your lost title and applied for a duplicate, you won’t be able to register or insure your vehicle until it arrives in the mail—which can take up to 60 days from the date it was ordered. To ensure uninterrupted coverage while you wait, make sure you have all of the following information ready when you contact your car insurance company:
-Your VIN number
-The year, make and model of your car
-The license plate number
How to Obtain a Duplicate Title if the Vehicle is in Someone Else’s Name
If the vehicle is currently in the name of another individual or entity, you must first obtain a release of interest from them. The release of interest form must be notarized and can be obtained from your local DMV office or by contacting the Kansas Department of Revenue. Once you have obtained the release of interest form, you may then apply for a duplicate title by completing an application and submitting it, along with the required fee, to your local county treasurer’s office.
How to Obtain a Duplicate Title if the Vehicle is in Your Name But You Have Lost the Title
If the vehicle is in your name but you have lost the title, you can obtain a duplicate title by:
– contacting the local county treasurer’s office in the county where the vehicle is registered and requesting a duplicate title application;
– completing the application and returning it to the county treasurer’s office with the required fee; and
– providing supporting documentation as required by the county treasurer’s office.
How to Obtain a Duplicate Title if the Vehicle is in Your Name and You Have Not Lost the Title
If you have a lost title and the vehicle is registered in your name, you may apply for a duplicate title by completing and signing an Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title (KSUT-1), which can be obtained from your local county treasurer’s office. The completed application, along with the applicable fees, must be submitted to the Division of Vehicles.
If you have a lost title and the vehicle is not registered in your name, you will need to submit a notarized bill of sale or other proof of ownership, along with the completed Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title (KSUT-1) and applicable fees, to the Division of Vehicles.
The process for filing for a lost title in Kansas is fairly straightforward. You will need to fill out a form and submit it to the Division of Vehicles, along with a fee. Once your form is processed, you should receive your new title in the mail.