How to Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Kansas

A step-by-step guide on how to apply for a concealed carry permit in Kansas.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

If you want to concealed carry in Kansas, you must have a valid permit. The process to obtain a concealed carry permit in Kansas is straightforward and can be completed in a few simple steps.

First, you must be at least 21 years of age and a resident of Kansas. You will also need to complete an approved firearms training course. Once you have completed the training, you will need to submit an application to the Kansas Attorney General’s office.

The application includes a background check and fee. Once your application is approved, you will receive your concealed carry permit.

You must renew your permit every five years. In order to renew your permit, you must complete another firearms training course and submit a new application with the required fee.

Who is eligible for a concealed carry permit in Kansas?

To be eligible for a concealed carry permit in Kansas, you must:
-Be 21 years of age or older
-Be a citizen of the United States
-Have no felony convictions
-Be currently not judged by a court to be mentally ill or chemically dependent
-Not be a drug user or addict
-Not have been convicted of certain misdemeanors, including but not limited to: domestic violence, battery, DUI, etc.
-Successfully complete an approved firearms training course

How to apply for a concealed carry permit in Kansas

You must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a concealed carry permit in Kansas. You will need to submit the following items to the Kansas Attorney General’s Office:
-A completed Concealed Carry License Application.
-A certified copy of your training certificate or a notarized statement attesting to your firearms training.
-A passport-style color photograph taken within the last 6 months.
-The non-refundable application fee of $132.50.

You may submit your application and supporting documentation by mail or in person. The mailing address is:
Office of the Attorney General
2300 Rochester Building
120 W 10th Ave, Suite 200
Topeka, KS 66612-1597
Or you may hand deliver your application to our office during normal business hours (8am – 5pm, Monday – Friday).

The cost of a concealed carry permit in Kansas

The cost of a concealed carry permit in Kansas varies depending on the county in which you reside. The fees are generally between $50 and $100, with an additional $25 fee for fingerprinting. You may be able to get a discount on the fees if you are a member of a gun club or shooting range.

What is the process for renewing a concealed carry permit in Kansas?

The process for renewing a concealed carry permit in Kansas is the same as the process for obtaining a new permit. Once an individual’s permit expires, he or she must submit a new application to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI). The individual must provide proof of citizenship, residency, and age; complete a firearms safety course; pass a criminal background check; and provide two passport-style photographs. The individual must also pay a $32 fee. The KBI will issue a renewal permit if the applicant meets all of the requirements.

What are the concealed carry laws in Kansas?

In order to apply for a concealed carry permit in Kansas, you must be at least 21 years of age. You must also complete a firearms training course that has been approved by the attorney general’s office.

Once you have completed the training course, you will need to submit an application to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI). The application must be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of $132.50.

If you are a resident of Kansas, you will need to provide proof of residency with your application. This can be done by providing a copy of your driver’s license or state identification card.

Out-of-state residents can provide a copy of their driver’s license or state identification card, as well as a certified copy of their criminal history from their home state.

The KBI will conduct a background check and will then issue a concealed carry permit if you are found to be eligible.

Permits are valid for four years and can be renewed for an additional four years by submitting a renewal application and fee to the KBI.

What are the concealed carry reciprocity agreements in Kansas?

Kansas recognizes concealed carry permit/licenses from states with which it has reciprocity agreements. The following states have agreements with Kansas:

-Alabama
-Alaska
-Arizona
-Arkansas
-Florida
-Georgia
-Idaho
-Indiana
-Iowa
-Kentucky
-Louisiana
-Minnesota
-Mississippi
-Missouri
-Montana
-Nebraska
New Hampshire
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio Oklahoma
Pennsylvania South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Virginia West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

How to contact the Kansas Attorney General’s Office with questions about concealed carry

The easiest way to contact the Kansas Attorney General’s Office with questions about concealed carry is to call their office directly. You can also find more information about concealed carry on the Kansas Attorney General’s Office website.

Conclusion

In order to obtain a concealed carry permit in Kansas, you must be at least 21 years of age, a resident of the state, and have completed a firearms training course. You will also need to submit an application to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation, which will conduct a background check. If you are approved, you will receive your concealed carry permit within 90 days.

Scroll to Top