How to Get a Gun License in Kansas

Wondering how to get a gun license in Kansas? Here’s what you need to know about the process of obtaining a gun license in the state of Kansas.

Checkout this video:

Introduction

In the state of Kansas, any person who wishes to purchase or carry a gun must first obtain a gun license. The process of obtaining a gun license in Kansas is relatively simple, but there are a few requirements that must be met before a license will be issued.

In order to qualify for a gun license in Kansas, an applicant must be at least 21 years of age and must not have been convicted of a felony. Additionally, the applicant must not be currently addicted to drugs or alcohol and must not be suffering from mental illness.

Once these qualifications have been met, the applicant can begin the process of applying for a gun license in Kansas. The first step in this process is to complete an application form, which can be obtained from the local sheriff’s office or from the website of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

After the application has been completed, it must be submitted to the local sheriff’s office along with a processing fee. Once the application has been received, the sheriff’s office will conduct a background check on the applicant. If the background check is clear, the sheriff’s office will issue a gun license to the applicant.

How to Get a Gun License in Kansas

In order to get a gun license in Kansas, you must be 21 years of age or older. You will need to provide a drivers license or state ID, a firearms training certificate, and complete a background check. You will also need to pay a fee.

Applying for a Gun License

In order to apply for a gun license in Kansas, you must first complete a firearms safety course. You can find a list of approved courses here.

Once you have completed a course, you will need to submit the following items to your local sheriff’s office:

-A completed application form
-Proof that you have completed a firearms safety course
-A fee of $25
-A set of fingerprints

Your application will be reviewed by the sheriff’s office, and if everything is in order, you will be issued a gun license.

Applying for a Concealed Carry Weapon License

You must be at least 21 years of age to apply for a concealed carry weapon license in Kansas. You must also be a U.S. citizen or a legal alien who has been issued a resident alien card by the federal government. If you have ever been convicted of a felony, you are not eligible for a CCW license. You also cannot have been convicted of certain misdemeanors, such as battery, within the past three years.

Applying for a License to Carry a Firearm

In Kansas, you must be 21 years of age or older to apply for a license to carry a concealed firearm. If you are 18 years of age or older, you may apply for a license to carry a concealed firearm if you are:

-A member of the United States Armed Forces, Kansas National Guard, or full-time student enrolled in a military college
-A qualified former law enforcement officer as described in the Federal Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act

To apply for a license to carry a concealed firearm in Kansas, you must:

-Submit a completed application form to your local sheriff’s office. The application form must be notarized.
-Pay the required fee of $132.50. The fee may be paid by cash, check, money order, or credit card.
-Provide proof that you have completed an approved firearms training course within the past three years. A list of approved firearms training courses is available on the Kansas Bureau of Investigation website.

Once your application has been submitted, the sheriff’s office will conduct a background check and verify that you have completed an approved firearms training course. If everything is in order, they will issue you a license to carry a concealed firearm in Kansas.

Conclusion

To obtain a gun license in Kansas, you must be at least 21 years of age, have no felony convictions, and not be prohibited from owning a firearm by state or federal law. You will also need to complete a firearms training course and pass a background check. Once you have met all of these requirements, you can apply for a gun license through the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

Scroll to Top