The process of getting a Kansas real estate license is not difficult, but there are a few steps you need to follow. This blog post outlines the process of getting a Kansas real estate license so that you can be on your way to becoming a real estate agent in Kansas.
Checkout this video:
The requirements for getting a real estate license in Kansas are set by the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC). The KREC is responsible for investigating complaints against licensees, holding disciplinary hearings, and imposing sanctions against those who have violated theReal Estate License Law or the rules and regulations of the commission. The commission also has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a license.
To be eligible for a real estate license in Kansas, an applicant must:
-Be at least 18 years of age;
-Have a high school diploma or equivalent;
-Complete 60 hours of approved real estate education;
-Pass the Kansas state examination for real estate salespersons; and
-Submit fingerprints for a background check.
Once an applicant has met all of the requirements and been issued a license, he or she must complete eight hours of continuing education every year in order to keep the license active.
Who is eligible for a license?
In order to qualify for a real estate license in Kansas, you must:
-Be at least 18 years old
-Be a legal US resident
-Have a high school diploma or equivalent
-Complete 60 hours of approved real estate education
-Pass the Kansas state exam
-Submit fingerprints for a background check
How to complete the education requirements
You must successfully complete an approved real estate course consisting of at least 90 hours of classroom instruction. The education courses must cover the following topics:
-Property ownership and land use controls and regulations
-Transfer of title
-Federal and state fair housing laws
-Legal aspects of brokerage
-Math for real estate transactions
Contact the schools below for more information about their courses.
How to pass the state exam
To receive your license, you must pass the state exam with a score of 75% or higher. The exam is broken down into two parts: the national and state sections. You must pass both sections to receive your license. The national section testing covers general real estate concepts and law, while the state section covers Kansas-specific real estate law and practices.
You must be at least 18 years old to take the exam, and you will need to complete an approved pre-licensing course before you can sit for the test. Once you pass the state examination, you will need to submit an application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission and pay a licensing fee. Once your application is approved, you will be issued a real estate license which must be renewed every two years.
There are a few different ways to prepare for the state examination. You can choose to take a traditional classroom course, an online course, or you can self-study using textbooks and other materials. Whichever method you choose, it is important to make sure that you are thoroughly prepared before sitting for the test.
How to submit a license application
In order to become a licensed real estate professional in Kansas, you must submit a completed license application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission. The application must include:
-Your full legal name, address and phone number
-The name, address and phone number of the licensed broker with whom you will affiliate
-A nonrefundable application fee of $45
-(Optional) If you have been licensed in another state within the last 5 years, you must request that state to send your licensure history to the Kansas Real Estate Commission
You can find the license application on the Commission’s website. Be sure to review the requirements for licensure before beginning the process.
How to renew your license
In order to renew your license, you must first log into your account on the Kansas Real Estate Commission website. From there, you will need to click on the “Renew License” link and follow the instructions. You will be required to pay a renewal fee and complete Continuing Education courses in order to renew your license.
In conclusion, remember that getting your Kansas real estate license is not as difficult as it may seem at first. With the right education and some hard work, you can be a licensed real estate agent in no time. Be sure to research the different educational options available to you and find one that fits your needs and schedule. Good luck!