If you want to get your real estate license in Kansas, you’ll need to complete a few steps. Here’s what you need to do to get started.
Checkout this video:
The first step to getting a real estate license in Kansas is to contact the Kansas Real Estate Commission to request an application. The application must be completed and returned to the commission, along with the required fee, within 60 days of request.
Applicants must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and pass a criminal background check. They must also successfully complete 60 hours of pre-license education. Once these requirements are met, applicants can schedule an appointment to take the state licensing examination.
The state licensing examination is administered by PSI Services LLC and consists of two parts: a national section and a state section. The national section covers general real estate topics, while the state section covers specific Kansas laws and regulations. Applicants must pass both sections of the examination within one year in order to receive their license.
Once licensed, real estate agents in Kansas must complete 12 hours of continuing education every year in order to maintain their license.
Steps to Get Your Kansas Real Estate License
If you want to become a real estate agent in Kansas, you must first complete the necessary education and training requirements. Once you have done that, you will need to pass the state exam. After you have passed the exam, you will need to submit a license application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission.
All individuals applying for a broker or salesperson license must complete a 60-hour pre-licensing education course from an approved provider. The course must be completed within two years prior to submitting an application for licensure. You must achieve a passing grade of 70% or higher on the final exam included in the course in order to receive credit.
Approved Providers of Pre-Licensing Education:
-The CE Shop
-Kaplan Real Estate Education
-OnCourse Learning Real Estate
-American Real Estate Academy
The Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Exam
You must pass the Kansas Real Estate Salesperson Exam to get your license. The exam is administered by PSI Services LLC.
To register for the exam, you will need to create an account on PSI’s website. Once you have created an account, you can register for the exam and schedule your appointment. You will need to pay a $115 fee to register for the exam.
The exam is Multiple Choice and consists of 100 questions. You will have 2 hours and 30 minutes to complete the exam. To pass the exam, you must answer at least 70% of the questions correctly.
You can find study materials for the exam on PSI’s website and on the Kansas Real Estate Commission’s website.
Applying for Your License
The first step in getting your Kansas real estate license is to submit a completed application to theKansas Real Estate Commission. The application must include:
-Your social security number
-A color passport-style photograph
-Documentation of your education (high school diploma or GED, and transcripts from any college coursework)
-An Affidavit of Moral Character and Fitness completed by two personal references
-A $50 non-refundable application fee
Once your application has been received and processed, you will be scheduled for an interview with a member of the Commission. During the interview, they will ask you questions about your background and qualifications to ensure that you are fit to practice real estate in Kansas.
If you are approved by the Commission, you will be able to register for the state licensing exam.
Maintaining Your License
To keep your real estate license in Kansas, you must complete 18 hours of continuing education every year. 9 of these hours must be in mandatory courses, and the other 9 can be electives. You can take your continuing education courses online, in person, or through a blend of the two. You must also complete a License Renewal Application and pay a fee to the Kansas Real Estate Commission.
To maintain your real estate license in the state of Kansas, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education (CE) every year. Of those 12 hours, 3 must be devoted to ethics training. These requirements apply to both brokers and salespersons.
All CE courses must be approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC). You can find a list of approved courses on the KREC website. CE courses can be completed online, in person, or through correspondence.
Once you have completed your CE requirements for the year, you will need to renew your license through the KREC website. You will need to log in with your user ID and password, and pay the required renewal fee.
To renew your real estate license in Kansas, you will need to complete 12 hours of continuing education and submit a renewal application to the state. The continuing education requirements must be met within the two years prior to your license expiration date.
A late renewal fee of $25 will be charged if you renew your license more than 30 days after it expires. If you renew your license more than 60 days after it expires, you will need to retake the state examination.
Kansas Real Estate License Reciprocity
Kansas has real estate reciprocity with a number of other states. This means that if you have a real estate license in another state, you may be able to get a Kansas license without having to take the Kansas licensing exam.
The following states have reciprocity with Kansas:
-District of Columbia
After reading this guide, you should have a good understanding of what is required to obtain a real estate license in Kansas. Remember that the best way to ensure success is to diligently study for the exam, stay organized and be professional in all your dealings. Good luck!