Get your CDL in Kansas and begin your career as a professional truck driver! We’ll show you how to get started, including what you need to do to earn your license.
Checkout this video:
If you want to become a commercial truck driver in the state of Kansas, you will need to obtain a CDL (commercial driver’s license). This can be done by completing a CDL training program and passing the necessary skills and knowledge tests.
In order to get a CDL in Kansas, you must first have a valid KS driver’s license. You must also be at least 18 years of age (21 if you want to drive interstate) and have a clean driving record. If you meet these requirements, you can then enroll in a CDL training program.
There are many different types of CDL training programs available, so it’s important to choose one that best meets your needs and schedule. Once you’ve completed your training, you’ll need to pass the Kansas CDL exam, which consists of a written test and a skills test. After passing the exam, you’ll be issued your Kansas commercial driver’s license.
What is a CDL?
A commercial driver’s license (CDL) is a driver’s license required to operate large or heavy vehicles.
In the United States, the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 established minimum requirements that states must use when issuing a CDL. The act created a tiered licensing system, where operators who wish to drive vehicles requiring additional skills and training must obtain additional endorsements.
There are three main classifications of CMVs, which are defined by the weight of the vehicle being operated:
-Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the GVWR of the vehicle being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
-Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing another not in excess of 10,000 pounds.
-Class C: Any single vehicle less than 26,001 pounds or any such vehicle towing a trailer not in excess of 10,000 pounds. Examples include most straight trucks and buses.
The Kansas CDL Application Process
In order to receive a CDL in the state of Kansas, you must first complete an application. The Kansas CDL application must be completed in person at a local DMV office. You will need to provide proof of residency, social security number, and birth date. You will also need to pass a vision test. Once the application is complete, you will be able to take the written exam.
Applying for a Kansas CDL
If you want to get a commercial driver’s license (CDL) in Kansas, you must first obtain a regular driver’s license from the state. You must then pass a written exam, a skills test, and a road test. After that, you will be issued your CDL.
To apply for a Kansas CDL, you must:
-be at least 18 years old (21 years old if you want to drive interstate)
-have a valid Kansas driver’s license
-have passed a written exam
-have passed a skills test
-have passed a road test
Taking the Kansas CDL Written Exam
You must pass a written exam to get your commercial learner’s permit (CLP) or CDL in Kansas. The CLP allows you to practice driving with a qualified CDL holder in the same class of vehicle you plan to operate with your CDL. Once you feel confident behind the wheel, you can take your skills test and earn your CDL.
The Kansas DMV offers a general knowledge exam and endorsements exams. You must pass the general knowledge exam to get your CLP or CDL. Depending on which type of vehicle you plan to operate, you may need to take one or more endorsement exams.
The general knowledge exam has 50 multiple-choice questions about topics including:
– Air brakes
Taking the Kansas CDL Skills Test
Now that you have your permit, you are able to take the skills tests required to get your CDL. You must make an appointment for the skills tests and there is a $50 fee. The three required skills tests are:
-The Vehicle Inspection Test
-The Basic Control Skills Test
-The Road Test
The Kansas CDL License
You will first need to get your Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) before you can get your CDL. You must have a CLP for 14 days before you can take your skills test. You will need to pass a vision test, a written knowledge test, and a pre-trip vehicle inspection test. After you have your CLP, you can take your skills test.
Types of Kansas CDLs
There are three types of CDLs issued in Kansas:
Class A – This license is necessary to operate any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 or more pounds, provided the towed vehicle is not heavier than 10,000 pounds. You will need a Class A license if you plan on driving a combination vehicle, such as a semi-truck and trailer, cattle hauler, livestock trailer, dairy tank truck, tractor-trailer or grain truck.
Class B – This license authorizes the holder to operate any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds or any such vehicle towing another not exceeding 10,000 pounds GVWR. A Class B license holder may drive a straight truck, dump truck, cement mixer truck or livestock carrier. If you have a valid Class B CDL and appropriate endorsements you can also operate vehicles requiring a Class C license.
Class C – This is the basic level CDL needed to operate any single vehicle with a GVWR of less than 26,001 pounds or such vehicle towing another not exceeding 10,000 pounds GVWR. The majority of small passenger buses fall into this category as well as vehicles used for personal use, like motor homes and large campers.
Restrictions and Endorsements
Kansas CDL Restrictions. Certain CMV operation requires additional training and certification.
-Corrective Lenses – You must wear corrective lenses while driving if your license shows the corrective lens restriction code.
-Detention/Hazmat – You will be allowed to haul hazardous materials only if your license shows the HAZMAT endorsement code and you have completed a background check through the Transportation Security Administration (TSA).
-Air Brakes – You must complete an air brakes certification course if your CDL displays the Air Brakes Restriction code.
-Farm Waiver – You may operate a farm vehicle without a CDL if you meet all of the following requirements:
You are 21 years old or older.
You are only operating on farm property or within 150 miles of the farm.
The vehicle you are driving is not carrying any placarded hazardous materials.
The vehicle you are driving does not require a Class A or B license.
You are not being paid to operate the vehicle.
Kansas CDL Endorsements. In order to transport certain types of cargo or passengers, you will need to get additional endorsements on your Class A, B, or C commercial driver’s license (CDL). The following table outlines which endorsements you will need for each type of commerce:
Renewing and Replacing Your Kansas CDL
You must renew your CDL every four years in order to keep it active. The KS DMV will send you a renewal notice by mail approximately 60 days before your CDL expires. You must renew in person at a DMV office. You will need to bring:
Renewing Your Kansas CDL
You must renew your Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) every 4-8 years, depending on the type of CDL that you have. You will receive a renewal notice in the mail from the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles (DOV) approximately 2 months before your CDL expires.
To renew your CDL, you must:
-Be a resident of Kansas
-Visit a local Kansas DMV office in person
-Complete a vision screening
-Provide proof of identity
-Provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or lawful presence in the United States
-Surrender your current license
-Pass a written knowledge test
-(If upgrading to a HazMat endorsement) Complete a Transportation Security Administration (TSA) background check
-(If upgrading to a Passenger endorsement) Complete additional written and skills tests as required
-(If upgrading to a School Bus endorsement) Complete additional written and skills tests as required
-(Class A only) Complete additional skills tests as required
-(Class B or Class C only, if required by state law or regulation for the vehicle you will operate) Demonstrate competency in operating the class and type vehicle you will drive
Replacing Your Kansas CDL
You must replace your lost, stolen or damaged CDL immediately. You may do this in person at any Kansas driver license office. You will need to:
-Complete an application.
-Have your picture taken.
-Give a thumbprint.
-Surrender your out-of-state license, if you have one.
-Pass a vision test, if you wear corrective lenses while driving.
You will be issued a temporary paper license to use until your new CDL arrives in the mail. There is no charge to replace your license.
If you currently have a valid CDL from another state, you may be able to transfer it to Kansas. You will need to go to your local DMV office and:
-Submit a completed Application for Kansas Driver License OR Identification Card (Form DL-1).
-Present your current, valid out-of-state driver’s license.
-Provide proof of your identity, Social Security number, and Kansas residency.
-Have your fingerprints and photographs taken.
-Pay the required fees.
Frequently Asked Questions
A CDL is a commercial driver’s license that allows you to operate certain types of vehicles. In order to get a CDL in Kansas, you will need to have a clean driving record, pass a physical examination, and pass a written exam. You will also need to provide proof of residency in Kansas.
How long does it take to get a CDL in Kansas?
The time it takes to get your CDL will depend on which type of license you need and the training program you choose. Most programs will have you road-ready within a few weeks, but it could take up to two months to get your full commercial license.
How much does it cost to get a CDL in Kansas?
There are a few different fees associated with getting your CDL in Kansas. You’ll have to pay for your permit, which is $15. You’ll also have to pay to take the skills test, which is $50, and the knowledge test, which is $30. The total cost of getting your CDL in Kansas, then, is $95.
What are the requirements to get a CDL in Kansas?
To get a CDL in Kansas, you must:
-Be 21 years of age or older
-Have a valid Kansas driver’s license
-Have a clean driving record
-Have a Social Security number
-Be able to read and speak English proficiently
-Pass a DOT physical examination
-Pass a skills test and road test