A concealed carry permit allows you to carry a concealed firearm in Kansas. Follow these steps to apply for a permit.
Checkout this video:
A concealed carry permit in Kansas allows residents of the state to carry a concealed handgun in public. The state’s concealed carry laws are governed by the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act, which was passed in 2006.
In order to obtain a concealed carry permit in Kansas, residents must be at least 21 years of age and must complete a firearms training course that is approved by the Kansas Attorney General’s Office. Residents must also pass a background check and pay a fee of $132.50.
Once a permit has been issued, it is valid for four years. After four years, the permit holder must renew their permit and complete another firearms training course.
It is important to note that while Kansas law does allow residents to carry a concealed handgun, there are some places where carrying a concealed weapon is not allowed, even with a permit. These places include schools, courthouses, and government buildings.
Who is eligible for a concealed carry in Kansas?
You must meet the following requirements to be eligible for a concealed carry permit in Kansas:
– You must be 21 years of age or older;
– You must not have been convicted of a felony;
– You must not have been convicted of a drug offense;
– You must not be a fugitive from justice;
– You must not be an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance;
– You must not have been adjudicated mentally ill or been involuntarily committed to a mental institution;
– You must not have been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces;
-You must not have renounced your citizenship;
-You must not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
How to apply for a concealed carry in Kansas
You must submit your Concealed Carry Weapons License application to the Kansas Attorney General’s Office. The completed application and $132 fee may be submitted online, by mail, or in person. You will also need to provide proof that you have completed an approved firearms training course.
If you are submitting your application online, you will need to create an account and login. Then, complete the online form and pay the $132 fee with a credit or debit card. Once your application is complete, you will need to print out the confirmation page and mail it, along with your proof of training, to the Kansas Attorney General’s Office.
If you are submitting your application by mail, you will need to print out the application form and complete it. Then, mail it along with a check or money order for $132 made out to the “Kansas Attorney General’s Office” and your proof of training to:
Kansas Attorney General’s Office
Concealed Carry Unit
134 South Main Street
Wichita, KS 67202
How much does it cost to get a concealed carry in Kansas?
The cost of a concealed carry permit in Kansas is $132.50 for new applicants, and $42.50 for renewals. There is also a $25 fee for those who wish to take the firearms training course required to obtain a permit.
What is the process for getting a concealed carry in Kansas?
In order to get a concealed carry permit in Kansas, you must be at least 21 years old and a resident of the state. You must also have completed a firearms training course within the past three years.
The first step is to fill out an application form, which is available on the website of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation. You will need to provide personal information such as your name, address, date of birth, and Social Security number. You will also need to describe any criminal history, mental health problems, or drug abuse issues.
Once you have submitted your application, you will need to take a fingerprint-based criminal history background check. You can either have this done at a local law enforcement agency or at a Kansas Bureau of Investigation office. The background check will cost $32.
If you pass the background check, you will then need to take a firearms training course from a certified instructor. The course must be at least eight hours long and include live fire exercises. Once you have completed the course, you will receive a certificate of completion which you will need to submit with your application.
After your application has been processed, you will receive your concealed carry permit in the mail. This permit is valid for four years and can be renewed by completing another background check and taking another firearms training course.
What are the laws for carrying a concealed weapon in Kansas?
In order to carry a concealed weapon in Kansas, you must apply for and receive a Kansas Concealed Carry License (CCL). The application process is overseen by the Kansas Attorney General’s Office.
There are multiple ways to complete the required firearms safety training, but the most common is to take an 8-hour class taught by a certified instructor. You will also need to provide proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful permanent residency, as well as a recent passport-style photograph.
Once you have completed the application process and received your CCL, you must renew it every four years. The renewal process is similar to the initial application process, although you will not need to retake the firearms safety course.
It is important to note that Kansas has concealed carry reciprocity agreements with several other states. This means that if you have a valid CCL from one of these states, you can also carry a concealed weapon in Kansas.
The following states currently have reciprocity agreements with Kansas: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma South Dakota Tennessee Virginia West Virginia Wyoming