Get your Kansas Real Estate License in as little as 8 weeks! We offer an online course that covers everything you need to know to get your license.
Checkout this video:
Becoming a licensed Kansas real estate agent is a process that involves completing education requirements and passing a state exam. If you have ever thought about a career in real estate, now is the time to get started.
The first step is to complete an accredited real estate pre-license course. The state of Kansas requires that you complete at least 90 hours of classroom instruction from an approved school. Once you have completed your coursework, you will then need to pass the state licensing exam.
After you have passed the exam and been issued your license, you must affiliate with a licensed broker in order to begin practicing. Once you have met all the requirements and obtained your license, you will be well on your way to a successful career in Kansas real estate!
Steps to take
In order to get your Kansas real estate license, you must first take an approved real estate pre-license course. Once you have completed the course, you will need to pass the Kansas real estate exam. After you have passed the exam, you will need to submit a license application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission.
In order to qualify for a Kansas real estate license, you must complete 60 hours of an approved real estate education course.
-The 60 hour pre-license course must be completed at an accredited school.
-A list of approved real estate schools can be found here.
-Courses must be completed within one year of beginning the class.
-If the course is not completed within one year, the credits will expire and you will have to re-take the entire course.
Pass the state exam
You must pass the state exam before you can receive your license. The state exam is offered by PSI Services LLC. You must register for the exam with PSI, and you will need to provide them with a copy of your Pre-Licensing Course Completion Certificate. The cost of the exam is $73, and you will have three chances to pass it.
To prepare for the state exam, be sure to review all of the material from your pre-licensing course. In addition, there are a number of excellent study aids available to help you bone up on Kansas real estate law and practice. The Kansas Real Estate Commission recommends two state-specific study aids in particular:
“Exam Prep: License Law and Practice” by Ross Hamilton
“Kansas Real Estate License Examinations” by Van Edwards and John W. Payne
Find a sponsoring broker
The first step to getting your Kansas real estate license is finding a sponsoring broker. A sponsoring broker is a licensed broker who is willing to take you on as a salesperson or associate broker. You will work under the supervision of your sponsoring broker, and they will be responsible for your actions as a licensee.
If you don’t have a broker in mind, you can search for one on the Kansas Association of REALTORS® website. Once you find a broker you’d like to work with, reach out to them and set up an interview. This is your chance to make sure that they are a good fit for you and that you are comfortable working with them.
##Heading:Take the required courses
The next step is to take the required courses. In Kansas, you must take two courses before you can apply for your license:
-Real Estate Principles (RE 200)
-Kansas Real Estate Practices (RE 201)
You can take these courses online, in person, or through a combination of both. The coursework must be approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC). Once you have completed the required courses, you will receive a certificate of completion that you will need to submit with your application for licensure.
##Heading:Pass the state exam
##Expansion:After completing your coursework and finding a sponsoring broker, you will need to pass the state exam before applying for your license. The state exam is administered by Promissor and consists of two parts:
-A national portion consisting of 80 multiple-choice questions
-A state portion consisting of 40 multiple-choice questions
You must pass both sections with a score of 70% or higher.
Activate your license
To activate your license, first you need to pass the Kansas Real Estate License Exam. The state of Kansas requires that you score at least 75% on the exam in order to obtain your license. If you don’t pass the exam on your first try, you can take it again. After you pass the exam, you will need to submit a license application to the state along with a $50 fee. Once your application has been processed and approved, your license will be activated.
Maintaining your license
You must complete 14 hours of CE every two years. Of those 14 hours, 3 must be on the Core Course, 2 on Legal Updates I and II, and 9 on Electives. You will need to maintain a record of your credits earned and keep them on file. You may be audited at any time and will need to provide proof of your credits.
In order to renew your license, you must complete 12 hours of continuing education (CE). Of the 12 hours, 3 must be on the subject of legal updates, 3 on the subject of ethics, and 6 hours may be general electives. Of the 6 general elective hours, a maximum of 3 may be completed via distance learning.
License renewals must be completed every four years by December 31st. You will need to complete 16 credit hours of continuing education, including a three-hour core course on ethics, and submit a renewal application with the required fee. If you have not received a renewal form from the Commission, you can print one from our website.
After you have completed the educational requirements and passed the state exam, you will need to submit a license application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission. You will also need to provide fingerprints and pass a background check. Once your application has been processed, you will be issued a Kansas real estate license.