You need to be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and complete 60 hours of an approved real estate pre-license course.
Checkout this video:
Are you interested in a career in real estate? If so, you’ll need to obtain a real estate license. The process for getting your real estate license in Kansas is relatively straightforward. In this article, we’ll provide an overview of the steps you’ll need to take to become a licensed real estate agent in Kansas.
Steps to Getting Your License
In order to get your real estate license in the state of Kansas, you must first complete an approved real estate education course. Once you have completed the course, you will need to pass the state licensing exam. After you have passed the exam, you will need to submit a fingerprint card and an application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission.
Be at Least 18 Years Old
In order to get your real estate license in the state of Kansas, you must be at least 18 years old.
Complete an Approved Pre-Licensing Course
In order to obtain a real estate license in the state of Kansas, you must first complete an approved pre-licensing course. The course must be at least 60 hours and cover the following topics:
-Types of property interests
-Transfer of interests in property
-Federal fair housing laws
-Real estate math
You can find a list of approved courses on the Kansas Real Estate Commission website.
Pass the Kansas State and National Exams
The first step to getting your real estate license in Kansas is to pass the state and national exams. The state exam is administered by Promissor and the national exam is administered by PSI Exams. You must pass both exams with a score of 75% or higher.
You can register for the exams online or by mail. To register for the exams online, you will need to create an account with Promissor. To register by mail, you will need to fill out the registration form and send it to:
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
Submit an Application to the Kansas Real Estate Commission
To be eligible for a real estate license in Kansas, you must:
-Be at least 18 years of age
-Have a high school diploma or GED
-Complete an approved pre-license course
-Pass the state and national portion of the license exam
-Submit a fingerprint card for a background check
You will need to submit the following items to the Kansas Real Estate Commission:
-A completed application for licensure (include the required fee)
-Proof that you have completed an approved pre-license course
-(If applicable) Documentation verifying that you have met any requirements for licensure by reciprocity or comity from another state
Maintaining Your License
Maintaining your real estate license in Kansas is important to be a successful real estate agent. There are a few things you need to do in order to keep your license active and in good standing. First, you need to take Continuing Education (CE) courses. These courses help you stay up-to-date on the latest trends in the real estate industry. You also need to renew your license every two years. Renewing your license is simple and can be done online. Finally, you need to maintain a good standing with theKansas Real Estate Commission (KREC).
The requirements for continuing education vary by state, but most require that agents complete a certain number of hours every few years to maintain their license. In Kansas, for example, agents must complete 12 hours of continuing education every year.
You must renew your license every two years. The renewal fee is $45. You will receive a renewal form in the mail approximately 60 days before your license expires. If you do not receive a renewal form, contact the Commission office. You must complete the mandatory continuing education (MCE) requirements before renewing your license.
In order to become a licensed real estate agent in Kansas, you must successfully complete an approved 60-hour pre-licensing course, pass the state and national portion of the licensure examination, and submit a completed licensure application with the required fees. If you have any questions during any stage of the process, you can contact the Kansas Real Estate Commission for assistance.