What County is Arkansas City, Kansas in?

Wondering what county Arkansas City, Kansas is in? We have the answer, plus some history and facts about this charming Midwestern town.

Checkout this video:

Cowley County


Cowley County is located in south-central Kansas and is intersected by the Arkansas River. The county seat is Winfield, and the largest city is Arkansas City. Bordering counties are Sumner, Harper, Kingman, Reno, Butler, Elk, and Chautauqua.


Cowley County was established in 1867. It is named for Matthew Cowley, a member of the Kansas Territorial Legislature and a pioneer settler. The county seat is Arkansas City.

The county was home to several Native American tribes, including the Wichita, Osage, and Kansa. The first white settlers arrived in the 1860s, and the county was officially established in 1867. The city of Arkansas City was founded in 1870 and soon became a major stop on the Chisholm Trail.

The county experienced rapid growth in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, due to the discovery of coal deposits in the area. Coal mining became a major industry, and Arkansas City became known as the “Coal Capital of Kansas.” The population of the city peaked at over 20,000 in 1920.

Today, Cowley County is a while-collar service economy with a diverse mix of industries. agriculture also plays an important role in the local economy.


As of the 2010 census, the population was 36,285. The county seat is Winfield, and the largest city is Arkansas City.

Cowley County is home to Southwestern College, Cowley College, and William Newton Memorial Hospital. The county has a number of festivals and events throughout the year, including the Steer Roast Rodeo and BalloonFest.

Sumner County

Arkansas City is the most populous city in and the county seat of Sumner County, Kansas, United States. As of the 2010 census, the city population was 12,371.


Sumner County is a county located in the state of Kansas. As of the 2010 census, the county population was 24,132. Its county seat and most populous city is Wellington.

Sumner County was established on March 20, 1874, and was named for James B. Sumner, United States Senator from Kansas from 1869 to 1875.


Sumner County was created on August 30, 1867, from parts of Sedgwick County. It was named in honor of General J. C. Sumner, a senator from Wisconsin. The first settlers in Sumner County were Mennonites from Pennsylvania. They settled near Caldwell in May 1871.


As of the census[2] of 2010, there were 24,132 people, 9,451 households, and 6,569 families residing in the county. The population density was 28 people per square mile (11/km²). There were 10, Ford County had a population of 3,072. The racial makeup of the county was 96.9% White, 0.7% Black or African American, 0.6% Native American, 0.3% Asian, 0.4% from other races, and 1% from two or more races. 1.8% of the population were Hispanic or Latino of any race

Scroll to Top