If you’ve just moved to Kansas, you may be wondering what the process is for registering your car. Here’s what you need to know.
Checkout this video:
In order to register your car in the state of Kansas, you will need the following:
-A completed vehicle registration application
-The title of the vehicle
-Proof of insurance for the vehicle
-A valid form of identification
-The registration fee
Why you need to register your car
You need to register your car with the Kansas Division of Vehicles (DOV) if you’ve just moved to the state or are buying a car here. You must do this within 30 days of your arrival or purchase date. You’ll need to provide various forms of documentation, including proof of insurance, a valid driver’s license, and the vehicle’s title deeds. You will also be asked to pay a registration fee and any applicable taxes.
How to register your car
1. Gather the required documents. To register your car in Kansas, you’ll need your out-of-state title, proof of insurance, and a form of identification. If you have recently purchased the vehicle, you will also need the dealer’s certificate of sale.
2. Head to your local Kansas Department of Revenue office with your documents in hand. You will need to complete an application for title and registration.
3. Pay the required fees. As of 2016, the fee to register a car in Kansas is $40 plus $8 for each year that the registration is valid.
4. Wait for your license plates to arrive in the mail. You should receive them within 4-6 weeks. In the meantime, you will be given a temporary registration certificate to keep in your car.
The benefits of registering your car
There are many benefits of registering your car, including the following:
-You will be able to drive legally on Kansas roads.
-Your car will be protected against theft and vandalism.
-If you are in an accident, your insurance company will be able to quickly verify that your car is properly registered.
-You will be able to renew your registration online or in person.
-You will be able to receive a free copy of your vehicle history report.
The consequences of not registering your car
Failing to register your car in Kansas can result in a number of penalties, including a fine of up to $200, jail time of up to 30 days, or both. In addition, your driver’s license may be suspended for up to a year. If you’re caught driving without a valid registration, you may be subject to impoundment of your vehicle.
How to renew your registration
1. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) – You can find your car’s VIN number on the dashboard, driver’s side door, or the title.
2. License Plate Number – You can find your license plate number on your current registration card or on the license plate itself.
3. Odometer Reading – You will need to provide your odometer reading if your vehicle is less than 10 years old.
4. Emissions Test – If your vehicle is subject to an emissions test, you will need to have it completed before renewing your registration.
What to do if you move to a new state
If you’re moving to a new state, you’ll need to follow the steps for transferring your car registration. The process can vary from state to state, but there are some general steps you’ll need to take care of.
First, you’ll need to notify the DMV in your old state that you’re moving. They may have a specific form for this, or you may be able to do it online. Once that’s taken care of, you’ll need to get a new license in your new state. Again, the process can vary, but you’ll generally need to submit proof of residency and pass a written and/or driving test.
Once you have your new license, you can then register your car in your new state. You’ll need to submit proof of ownership, usually in the form of a title or registration certificate from your old state. You may also need to show proof of insurance, a safety inspection certificate, and/or an emissions inspection certificate. Once all that is taken care of, you’ll be issued a new registration and license plate for your car.
How to register an out-of-state car
To register an out-of-state car in Kansas, you’ll need to:
– Bring the car title and your out-of-state registration to the DMV office.
– If you’ve just moved to Kansas, you’ll need to show proof of residency, such as a utility bill.
– Have your car insurance information handy. You’ll need to show proof of liability insurance that meet Kansas requirements.
– Pay the registration fee, which is $45 for new residents.
How to get a license plate
You must have a license plate to operate your vehicle on Kansas roads. You can get a Kansas license plate when you register your vehicle with the Division of Vehicles. Depending on how you acquire your vehicle, you will register it at either your local county treasurer’s office or through the mail. The process is the same for both options, but you will need to provide different documentation if you are registering your vehicle for the first time or if you are renewing your registration.
To get a Kansas license plate, you must:
-Be a Kansas resident
-Have liability insurance on your vehicle
-Have the vehicle ownership documents
-Pass a vehicle inspection, if required
-Pay the registration fee
To register your car in Kansas, you’ll need to have the following:
-Your driver’s license
-Your car’s title
-One proof of Kansas residency, such as a utility bill or lease agreement
-Proof of car insurance
-The registration fee, which is based on the weight of your vehicle