If you need to renew your license in Kansas, you will need to provide the DMV with proof of your identity, residency and insurance.
Checkout this video:
In order to renew your license in Kansas, you need to complete the following steps:
1) Complete a driver’s license renewal application form.
2) Pay the required renewal fee.
3) Provide proof of identity, such as a current, valid government-issued photo ID or passport.
4) If you have changed your name since your last license was issued, you must provide proof of name change, such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree.
5) Complete a vision test, if required.
6) If you are renewing a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you must also provide proof of citizenship or legal presence in the United States.
What You Need to Renew Your License
You will need to renew your license every four years in order to keep driving legally in Kansas. The first time you renew your license, you will be required to take a vision test. If you pass the vision test, you will be able to renew your license without taking the written or driving tests.
To renew your license, you will need to fill out a renewal application and submit it to the Kansas Department of Revenue. The application must be signed by you and your parent or legal guardian if you are under 18 years old. You will also need to provide proof of your identity, residency, and Social Security number. If you have a valid driver’s license from another state, you may be able to use that to renew your Kansas license.
To renew your license, you will need to submit a completed Application for Renewal form along with the required fee. The fees for renewing a license vary depending on the type of license and the number of years for which you are renewing.
-For a regular driver’s license, the fee is $33 for one year, $66 for two years, or $99 for three years.
-For a commercial driver’s license (CDL), the fee is $108.50 for one year or $217 for two years.
-For a motorcycle license, the fee is $21 for one year or $42 for two years.
You will need the following documentation when renewing your license:
-Your current license
-A completed renewal form
-Payment for the renewal fee
Renewing Your License Online
Renewing your license online in Kansas is a simple and convenient process. All you need is a valid email address and a credit or debit card. You will also need to provide your social security number, date of birth, and current address. You will need to have your current license with you when you renew.
Online Renewal Application
To renew your license online, you will need:
-Your license number
-The last 4 digits of your Social Security number
-A credit or debit card for payment
If you have moved, you will also need to update your address. You can do this online or by mailing in a Change of Address form.
All fees collected by the Division of Vehicles are deposited in the highway safety and construction fund. The fund is used to pay for roadway projects, driver’s education and training, traffic law enforcement, and administrative costs of vehicle licensing and registration.
The following fees are currently charged for licensing services:
-Class C license (non-commercial vehicles weighing less than 26,001 pounds gross vehicle weight): $33.50
-Class C license with motor cycles: $48.50
-Class M license (motorcycles only): $23.50
-ID card: $16.50
-replace lost or stolen license or ID card: $16.50
You will need to provide documentation of the following in order to renew your Kansas driver’s license:
-Full legal name
-Date of birth
-Social Security number
-Citizenship or legal presence in the United States
-An email address (optional)
If your name has changed since your last renewal, you will need to provide documentation of the change, such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order.
Renewing Your License by Mail
You will need to include a completed renewal application, which you can get from the Kansas DMV office or website. You will also need to include two passport-style photographs. If your license has been expired for more than one year, you will need to include a $30 late fee.
To renew your license by mail, you must:
-Be a United States citizen.
-Be 18 years of age or older.
-Have held a valid Kansas driver’s license for at least one year.
-\Have not had your license suspended, revoked, or canceled during the past year.
-have not had more than five moving violations during the past year.
-Have not been convicted of a DUI/DWI during the past year.
The standard adult driver’s license fee is $33. The renewal fee for seniors (age 65 and older) is $16. For a complete list of all license fees, please see the Kansas Driver’s License Fee Schedule.
You may renew your license up to one year before it expires or up to two years after it expires. There is no grace period for renewing an expired license; you must reapply as a new applicant.
You will need to provide proof of the following when renewing your license by mail:
-Your name and date of birth
-Your Social Security Number
-Your Kansas residency
-That your license has not been expired for more than one year
You will need to provide two documents that prove your name and date of birth. These can be a:
-Certified copy of your birth certificate
-Certified copy of your naturalization papers or alien registration card
You will need to provide one document that proves your Social Security Number. This can be a:
-Social Security card
-Non-SSA 1099 form
Pay stub with your full SSN on it
KS driver’s license or ID card with your full SSN on it
Renewing Your License in Person
You will need to bring your current license, a completed License Renewal Application, proof of citizenship or legal presence in the US, and proof of Kansas residency. You will also need to take a vision test and have your photo taken. If you renew in person, you will need to pay the $33 renewal fee by cash, check, or money order.
To renew your license in person, you will need to fill out a renewal application, which is available at your local DMV office. You will need to provide proof of your identity, residency, and citizenship or legal presence in the United States. You will also need to provide proof of your Kansas residency, such as a utility bill or bank statement. If you have moved since you last renewed your license, you will need to update your address on your renewal application. You will also need to provide proof of your Social Security number. Finally, you will need to submit a payment for the renewal fee.
Most residents renew their license in person at one of the DMV renewal offices. You will need to take with you:
-A completed driver’s license application
-Your current driver’s license
-Two forms of ID, one of which must be a certified birth certificate, passport, or immigration document
-Social Security Card
-Payment for the renewal fee
You need to bring two documents to renew your license in person. One document must be from the “primary” list of accepted documents, and the other must be from the “secondary” list.
The primary document must establish your identity, date of birth, Social Security number, and U.S. citizenship or legal presence in the United States. You will also need to bring proof of your Kansas residence.
The following documents can be used as a primary document:
-Unexpired U.S. passport
-Unexpired passport card issued by the U.S. Department of State
-Certificate of naturalization or citizenship issued by the U.S. Government
– unexpired Permanent Resident Card (Green Card) issued by the U.S. Government
-driver’s license or identification card issued by another state if you are a resident of that state and are stationed in Kansas while in the military
The following documents can be used as a secondary document:
-Unexpired military ID card issued by the United States Department of Defense
-An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority, or outlying possession of the United States bearing an official seal
A certified copy of a court order establishing your name change, if applicable
After reading this guide, you should have a good understanding of what you need to renew your license in Kansas. Remember to always check with your local DMV office to make sure you have the most up-to-date information.