The current minimum wage in Kansas is $7.25 per hour. The state of Kansas has not enacted a minimum wage law higher than the federal minimum wage.
Minimum wage laws in the United States are determined at the state level. Some states have enacted minimum wage laws that are higher than the federal minimum wage. When state and federal minimum wage laws conflict, the higher wage prevails.
Checkout this video:
The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour for non-exempt workers. Some states, including Kansas, have enacted laws that set a higher minimum wage. In these states, employers must pay workers the higher state minimum wage. As of January 2020, the minimum wage in Kansas is $7.70 per hour for most workers.
Certain types of workers may be exempt from the state minimum wage law and may be paid a lower hourly rate. For example, tipped employees who receive at least $30 per month in tips can be paid a lower hourly rate by their employer. You can find more information about exempt workers and the minimum wage in Kansas on the website of the Kansas Department of Labor.
Federal Minimum Wage
The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. Federal minimum wage laws are enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division. To learn more about the federal minimum wage, visit the Wage and Hour Division website or call their toll-free information and helpline at 1-866-4USWAGE (1-866-487-9243).
Some states have chosen to set a higher minimum wage than the federal level, and some municipalities have also enacted their own minimum wage laws that are higher than both the state and federal level. You can find links to each state’s labor department or website where you can learn more about that state’s specific minimum wage laws on our State Minimum Wages page. You can also learn about how the federal minimum wage is calculated on our Minimum Wage Calculator page.
State Minimum Wage
Many states have their own minimum wage laws. Employers must pay employees the higher statewide minimum wage or the federal minimum wage, whichever is higher. In states with no state minimum wage law, the federal minimum wage applies. You can find out what the minimum wage is in your state on our State Minimum Wage page.
The current Kansas minimum wage of $7.25 per hour has been in effect since 2009. The Kansas Minimum Wage Act does not cover all workers in the state. If you are not sure whether you are covered or not, please contact your local office of the Kansas Department of Labor.
You may be exempt from the minimum wage if you are:
-An employee under 20 years of age during the first 90 consecutive calendar days of employment with an employer
-A student employee who works for a nonprofit organization or a government entity
-A student employee who works part-time while attending school full-time
-A tipped employee who earns at least $30 per month in tips
Minimum Wage in Kansas
As of July 1st, 2019, the minimum wage in the state of Kansas is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the federal minimum wage, which has been stuck at $7.25 since 2009. The minimum wage applies to all workers in Kansas, with few exceptions. tipped workers, for instance, are only required to be paid $2.13 per hour, as long as their tips bring them up to at least the minimum wage when combined with their hourly pay. Some full-time students working certain jobs may also be exempt from the minimum wage.
There have been recent efforts to raise the minimum wage in Kansas. In 2018, a bill was introduced in the Kansas legislature that would have gradually raised the minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2024. The bill did not pass, but it shows that there is support for a higher minimum wage in Kansas. Whether or not the minimum wage will be raised in Kansas in the future remains to be seen.
Kansas Minimum Wage History
The minimum wage in Kansas was first established in 1996 when it was set at $2.65 per hour. In 2007, it was raised to $2.75 and then to $6.55 in 2009 where it has remained since.
There have been several bills introduced in the Kansas Legislature to raise the minimum wage, but so far none have been successful. In 2014, a bill was introduced to raise the minimum wage to $7.25, but it failed to pass.
The current minimum wage of $6.55 per hour is lower than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25 per hour, so workers are entitled to the higher Federal wage if they are covered by both laws.
Minimum wage laws in Kansas apply to all workers in the state, regardless of age, except for those who are exempt under Federal or state law.
How the Minimum Wage is Set in Kansas
The minimum wage in Kansas is $7.25 per hour as set by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The state of Kansas has no laws that are specific to minimum wage, so the FLSA provisions apply statewide. The FLSA covers all private sector employees as well as all public sector employees who are not specifically exempt from coverage. Some examples of workers who are exempt from the FLSA minimum wage provisions include certain agricultural workers, seasonal and recreational workers, student learners, and workers with disabilities.
The Kansas minimum wage applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the FLSA. This includes all full-time and part-time employees, regardless of their age, race, color, religion, national origin, or sex. It also includes all hourly and salaried workers, as well as commission-based and piece-rate workers.
The Kansas Department of Labor is responsible for enforcing the state’s minimum wage laws. If you believe your employer is not paying you the proper amount of wages, you may file a complaint with the department’s Wage and Hour Division.
How the Minimum Wage Affects Kansas Workers
The current minimum wage in Kansas is $7.25 per hour.
For workers paid by the hour, this translates into a gross income of $290 for a 40-hour work week, or $1,160 for a four-week month.
However, after taxes and other deductions, the take-home pay for a minimum wage earner in Kansas is significantly less.
The federal poverty level for a single person is $12,760 per year, or $1,060 per month. A full-time minimum wage worker in Kansas brings home just over half of that amount.
Many workers who are paid minimum wage are also eligible for food stamps and other government assistance programs. In Kansas, the child care subsidy program provides financial assistance to low-income families to help with the cost of child care.
The minimum wage in Kansas has not changed since 2009, when it was raised from $6.55 per hour to its current rate of $7.25.
The state legislature has considered raising the minimum wage several times in recent years, but those efforts have stalled in committee.
Opponents of a higher minimum wage argue that it would lead to job losses, as businesses would be forced to cut back on staffing levels in order to make up for the increased labor costs.
Supporters counter that raising the minimum wage would provide a much-needed boost to the economy by putting more money into the pockets of low-wage workers who are likely to spend it quickly on necessities.
How the Minimum Wage Affects Kansas Businesses
The minimum wage in Kansas is $7.25 per hour. For businesses with 25 or fewer employees, the wage is $2.13 per hour. The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Kansas businesses are required to pay their employees at least the minimum wage, but they may pay employees more if they choose to do so. The minimum wage may also be different for tipped employees, such as servers and bartenders, as long as their tips combined with their hourly wage meet or exceed the minimum wage.
The minimum wage affects businesses in Kansas in a number of ways. First, it sets a baseline for how much employees must be paid per hour. This can impact a business’s bottom line, as they may need to raise prices or cut costs in other areas to offset the higher wages paid to employees. Additionally, the minimum wage may impact a business’s ability to attract and retain workers, as employees may be more likely to seek out jobs that pay above the minimum wage. Finally, the minimum wage may also have an impact on businesses’ relationships with their customers, as customers may be less likely to patronize businesses that they perceive as not paying their workers fairly.
According to the Kansas Department of Labor, the minimum wage in Kansas is $7.25 per hour. This rate has been in effect since January 1, 2009, and is the same as the federal minimum wage.