- Overview of Kansas Concealed Carry Laws
- Reciprocity for Kansas Concealed Carry Permits
- How to Apply for a Kansas Concealed Carry Permit
The answer may surprise you – many states have laws that recognize Kansas concealed carry permits! Check out our blog post to learn more.
Checkout this video:
Overview of Kansas Concealed Carry Laws
Kansas is a shall-issue state for concealed carry. This means that as long as applicants meet the requirements set forth by the state, they will receive a concealed carry permit. Keep reading to learn more about the concealed carry laws in Kansas.
What is the Kansas concealed carry permit process?
In order to obtain a Kansas concealed carry permit, applicants must be at least 21 years of age and must complete an approved firearms training course. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check. Once the application is complete, it must be submitted to the Kansas Attorney General’s office for review.
Kansas recognizes concealed carry permits from certain other states. However, residents of Kansas who wish to concealed carry in another state are advised to check the laws of that state before doing so.
What are the requirements for a Kansas concealed carry permit?
In order to qualify for a permit in Kansas, applicants must:
– Be 21 years of age or older
– Be a resident of Kansas or a United States citizen
– Not have been convicted of a felony
– Not beCurrently under indictment for a felony
– Not be a habitual drunkard or drug user
– Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent within the past 5 years
– Not have been involuntarily committed to a mental institution within the past 5 years
– Successfully complete an approved firearms training course
What are the fees for a Kansas concealed carry permit?
The fee for a new Kansas concealed carry permit is $132.50. The fee for a renewal license is $42.50. There is no fee for a permit for active military personnel or honorably discharged veterans.
How long is a Kansas concealed carry permit valid?
A Kansas concealed carry permit is valid for four years from the date of issuance.
Reciprocity for Kansas Concealed Carry Permits
Kansas law provides reciprocity for concealed carry permit holders from certain states. If you have a valid concealed carry permit from one of the states listed below, you may also carry concealed in Kansas.
What states recognize a Kansas concealed carry permit?
Concealed carry permit reciprocity means that your home state will recognize a concealed carry permit from another state, as long as that state also recognizes concealed carry permits from your home state. So, if you have a Kansas concealed carry permit, what other states will recognize it?
The answer may surprise you. You might think that only bordering states would recognize your Kansas concealed carry permit, but that’s not always the case. Some states have very specific requirements for what constitutes a valid out-of-state concealed carry permit, while other states recognize any permit that’s issued by any state, no matter what the requirements are.
Here is a list of states that currently recognize a Kansas concealed carry permit:
What states honor a Kansas concealed carry permit?
The answer may depend on which expert you ask, but most recognize the following 26 states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina , North Dakota , Ohio , Oklahoma , Pennsylvania , South Dakota , Tennessee , Utah , Virginia , West Virginia and Wyoming . You can check with your local law enforcement office for specific questions about reciprocity.
What states have concealed carry reciprocity with Kansas?
The Kansas concealed carry reciprocity map shows what states currently recognize a Kansas CCW permit.
As seen in the map, Kansas honors concealed carry permits from Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.
Kansas also recognizes any out-of-state permit that is recognized by the attorney general of Kansas.
How to Apply for a Kansas Concealed Carry Permit
Kansas is a “shall issue” state for concealed carry permits, meaning that as long as you meet the requirements set forth by the state, you shall be issued a permit. You must be at least 21 years of age, a resident of Kansas, and have completed a firearms safety training course. You will also need to submit a completed application, along with the required fees, to the county sheriff’s office.
How to apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit online
Any person 21 years of age or older, who is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm, may apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit.
If you are active military, you may apply for a permit if you meet all other eligibility requirements. Military members are not required to complete the firearms training course if they submit proof of firearms training from the United States Armed Forces.
You must submit your application through the Kansas Attorney General’s website. You will need to create an account and login to begin your application.
Once logged in, you will need to complete the following steps:
1) Read and acknowledge the Terms and Conditions.
2) Enter personal information including your name, address, date of birth, Social Security Number, and driver’s license information.
3) Select whether you would like to request a 5-year or 10-year License to Carry Concealed Weapons (LTC). The fee for a 5-year LTC is $132.50 and the fee for a 10-year LTC is $192.50. You will have the option to pay online or by mail.
4) Complete the section on Eligibility Requirements and certify that you meet all requirements to apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit.
5) Complete the criminal history questions truthfully. You will be asked about any felony convictions, drug use, domestic violence restraining orders, etc. If you answer “yes” to any of these questions, your application may be denied.
6) Complete the Mental Health history questions truthfully. You will be asked about any involuntary commitment orders, voluntary commitment orders, adjudications of mental incompetence, etc. If you answer “yes” to any of these questions your application may be denied
How to apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit by mail
1. You may apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit by mail.
2. To apply, you will need:
-A completed Application for a Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun License
-A non-refundable processing fee of $132.50
-An original certificate of completion for an approved firearms safety training course
-A color passport-style photograph taken within the last six months
3. Mail the above items to:
Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Concealed Carry Unit
1620 SW Tyler St., Suite 430
Topeka, KS 66612
How to apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit in person
You must apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit in person at your local sheriff’s office. The application process may vary slightly from county to county, but you will generally need to fill out an application form and provide proof of residency, citizenship, and identification. You will also need to pass a background check and complete a firearms training course.
If you are a resident of another state, you may be able to apply for a Kansas concealed carry permit if your state has reciprocity agreements with Kansas. Reciprocity agreements between states mean that each state recognizes the other state’s concealed carry permits. This means that you can use your home state’s concealed carry permit to carry in Kansas, as long as you meet all the requirements of both states.
Not all states have reciprocity agreements with Kansas, so it’s important to check before you travel. You can find a list of states that recognize Kansas concealed carry permits on the Kansas Attorney General’s website.