What Zone is Kansas In?

If you’re looking to find out what zone is Kansas in, you’ve come to the right place. Keep reading to learn more about the climate zones of the United States.

Checkout this video:

The 8 Zones

There are 8 zones in the United States. They are the North, South, East, West, Central, Mountain, Pacific, and Atlantic. Each one of these zones has its own climate, which means that the plants that grow in one zone may not be able to grow in another.

Zone 1: Most of Alaska, Hawaii, parts of Montana

In the United States, plant hardiness zone maps are produced by the USDA’s Agricultural Research Service (ARS). The maps look like checkerboards, with each square representing a 10-mile-by-10-mile area. The map is divided into numbered zones, each of which corresponds to a range of average annual minimum winter temperatures.

Zone 1 is the coldest, and Zone 11 is the warmest. (There are also two “microclimates,” Zone A and Zone B, which are even warmer than Zone 11.) Most of Alaska, Hawaii, and parts of Montana are in Zone 1; most of Florida and Texas are in Zone 11.

Plants that are “hardy” can withstand the coldest temperatures in a given zone; plants that are ” frost tender” will be damaged or killed by even light frosts. The terms “heat zone” or “chilling requirement” refer to the amount of heat or cold a plant needs to produce flowers or fruit.

Zone 2: Washington, Oregon, Idaho, most of Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Wyoming, Utah, Colorado

This large region has a relatively small population and low urbanization. It is home to some of the most rugged and beautiful terrain in the country, as well as a wide variety of climates and ecosystems. The western part of this zone is mountainous, with the Rockies running north to south. The eastern part is generally flatter, with several large river systems running through it. This region experiences a wide range of climates, from the temperate rainforests of the Pacific Northwest to the arid desert lands of the Southwest.

Zone 3: Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Zones are numbered consecutively from east to west across the country, with Zone 1 being the coldest and Zone 11 the warmest. The system was developed by the USDA’s Agricultural Research Service (ARS) and its Plant Hardiness Assessment Center in Fort Collins, Colorado.

The system consists of an imaginary grid that covers the entire United States, Canada, and Mexico. Each zone is divided into 10-degree bands of latitude and longitude. The map is color-coded according to average minimum winter temperatures.

For example, on the map, Zone 3 is colored pale pink and runs diagonally from northeastern Arizona through central New Mexico and Oklahoma to northern Texas. The average minimum winter temperatures in this zone are between -10 degrees Fahrenheit and 0 degrees Fahrenheit (-23 degrees Celsius and -18 degrees Celsius).

USDA hardiness zones were first published in 1960 and have been updated several times since then, most recently in 2012.

Zone 4: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, Kentucky, Missouri, Kansas, Iowa

In general, the further south and east you travel in the United States, the warmer the climate becomes. Zone 4 is no exception – this zone includes some of the warmest states in the country. The average last frost date in Zone 4 is April 15, which means that you can start planting most garden crops around that time. Some of the states in Zone 4 are Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, Kentucky, Missouri, Kansas, and Iowa.

If you live in Zone 4 and are looking to start a garden, there are a few things to keep in mind. First of all, because the climate is so warm, you can plant almost any type of crop that you want. However, it is important to remember that some crops will do better than others – for example, heat-loving vegetables such as tomatoes and peppers will thrive in this climate, while cool-weather vegetables such as lettuce or kale may have a more difficult time. Another thing to keep in mind is that because the climate is so warm, you will need to water your plants more frequently than if you lived in a cooler zone.

Zone 5: Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine

This is a large and varied region that includes parts of the Midwestern prairies, Great Lakes, Appalachian Mountains, and the northeastern seaboard. The climate here ranges from humid continental to humid subtropical, with cold winters and hot, humid summers. This region is home to a diverse array of plant and animal life, including both deciduous and coniferous forests.

Zone 6: North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida

Most of the country is in Zones 3 through 10. But where exactly do these zones begin and end? The map is actually divided into 11 separate maps, each one covering a different range of latitudes. That’s why there’s some overlap between zones on the map. For example, most of North Carolina falls in Zone 7, but the very southernmost tip of the state is in Zone 6.

The ranges are as follows:

Zone 6: 30° to 35° latitude
Zone 7: 35° to 40° latitude
Zone 8: 40° to 45° latitude
Zone 9: 45° to 50° latitude
Zone 10: 50° to 55° latitude

Zone 7: Most of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, Indiana

The 8 Zones were determined by the growth potential of various plants in different areas of the United States. The zones are numbered from 1-11, with 1 being the coldest and 11 being the warmest.

Zone 7 is a fairly large zone that includes most of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, and Indiana. The average minimum temperature for this zone is 0 to 10 degrees Fahrenheit (-18 to -12°C).

Some plants that can be grown in zone 7 include:
-Bee Balm
-Black Eyed Susan
-Butterfly Bush
-Echinacea (Coneflower)

Zone 8: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania

In the United States, hardiness zones are used to determine which plants are most likely to thrive in given areas. Based on the average minimum winter temperatures, each zone is 10°F warmer (or colder) than the adjacent zone. For example, if a plant is described as “hardy to zone 6,” it will survive the winter in areas where the minimum temperature is -5°F to -10°F.

There are 11 hardiness zones in the contiguous United States, plus two in Alaska. The zones are numbered from 1 (the coldest) to 11 (the warmest). For example, Zone 4 includes most of North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Minnesota, Iowa, and Missouri.

Zone 8: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania
Minimum Temperature: 10°F to 20°F

Scroll to Top