When Are Kansas State Taxes Due in 2021?

It’s that time of year again! Get all the information you need to know about when Kansas state taxes are due in 2021.

Checkout this video:


The date when your taxes are due in Kansas depends on your filing method and whether you owe taxes.

If you file your taxes electronically, they are due on April 15. If you file a paper return, they are due on April 20.

If you need more time to file your taxes, you can get an extension by filing Form KDOR-E before the original due date of your return. This will give you until October 15 to file your return.

If you owe taxes, the due date is April 20 regardless of how you file.

If you make quarterly estimated tax payments, the payment for the first quarter is due on April 15 and the payment for the second quarter is due on June 15. The payment for the third quarter is due on September 15 and the payment for the fourth quarter is due on January 15 of the following year.

Kansas State Taxes

Kansas state taxes are due on April 15th, 2021. This is the same date as federal taxes. If you need an extension, you can file for one by April 15th. The extension will give you until October 15th to file your taxes. You can get an extension by filing form 4868 with the IRS.

Kansas Income Tax

The Kansas income tax rate is 4.00%, and the maximum marginal tax rate is 6.45%. Your effective tax rate depends on your income level and filing status.

The first $15,000 of taxable income for single filers is taxed at 2.7%. $15,001 to $30,000 is taxed at 4.6%. anything over $30,000 is taxed at the maximum marginal rate of 6.45%. For married filing jointly, the first $30,000 is taxed at 2.7% , $30,001 to $60,000 is taxed at 4.6%, and anything over $60,000 is taxed at the maximum marginal rate of 6.45%.

There are no deductions or credits specifically for Kansas state taxes. However, you may be eligible for the federal earned income tax credit or other federal credits which can reduce your overall tax liability.

Kansas state taxes are due on April 15th of each year. If you cannot pay your taxes in full by that date, you can file for an extension using Form K-40V.

Kansas Sales Tax

The Kansas state sales tax rate is 6.5%, and the average KS sales tax after local surtaxes is 7.62%. Counties and cities can charge an additional local sales tax of up to 3%, for a maximum possible combined sales tax of 10.5%. Kansas has 432 special sales tax jurisdictions with local rates ranging from 0.1% to 3.5%.

The maximum local tax rate allowed by Kansas law is 3%. This includes city, county, school district, and head start program taxes.

Kansas has a lower state sales tax than 61% of states, and allows local governments to collect a local option sales tax of up to 3%.

Kansas Property Tax

All property in Kansas is taxable unless specifically exempted by law. The total tax rate for most Kansas properties is around 30 mills. This consists of the ad valorem tax rate of 20 mills plus various special assessment rates, which are set by the local units of government where the property is located.

Kansas has a constitutional provision that limits the amount of increase in any one year’s taxes on real estate to no more than 3 percent of the preceding year’s tax bill. If the levy for a given year exceeds this limit, a vote of the people is required to approve the higher levy.

When Are Kansas State Taxes Due in 2021?

The Kansas state tax filing deadline is April 15th, 2021. This is the same deadline as your federal taxes. If you need an extension, you can file for one by April 15th as well.

Kansas Income Tax

All Kansas taxpayers must file their state income tax return by April 15, 2021. However, if you cannot file by the due date, you can request an extension. You must file your extension request form by April 15 and then file your actual return by October 15.

Kansas Sales Tax

Sales tax is imposed on the retail sale of certain tangible personal property and services in Kansas. The general state sales tax rate is 6.5 percent. In addition to the state sales tax, there may be one or more local sales taxes imposed by city, county and/or school district.

Taxpayers may also be subject to use tax on purchases made from out-of-state vendors for use in Kansas. Use tax is due on the use, storage or consumption of tangible personal property purchased from an out-of-state vendor if sales tax was not paid at the time of purchase.

The Kansas Department of Revenue must receive your return and payment no later than midnight on April 15, 2021. If you mail your return, it must be postmarked by the due date to be considered timely filed.

Kansas Property Tax

In Kansas, the primary property tax is imposed on real property. The tax rate is set by each individual county, and the amount of tax owed is based on the assessed value of the property. The tax is levied on bothresidential and commercial properties, and it is used to fund local government services such as schools, roads, and public safety.

The due date for Kansas property taxes is March 31st. Property owners who are unable to pay their taxes by the due date may be able to enter into a payment plan with their county treasurer. Interest and penalties will apply to delinquent taxes, and the property may be subject to foreclosure if the taxes are not paid.

If you have questions about your Kansas property taxes, you should contact your county treasurer’s office.


It’s important to stay on top of your tax obligations, and knowing when Kansas state taxes are due is a big part of that. In general, state taxes in Kansas are due on April 15th, just like federal taxes. However, there are a few exceptions to this rule. If you’re self-employed, you may be required to pay estimated taxes throughout the year. And if you file an extension, you’ll have until October 15th to file your return.

Keep in mind that these due dates could change from year to year, so it’s always a good idea to check with the Kansas Department of Revenue to make sure you have the most up-to-date information. Filing and paying your taxes on time is crucial to avoid penalties and interest charges, so don’t wait until the last minute. Get started on your return today!

Scroll to Top