The Kansas Department of Revenue administers and enforces state tax laws. The due date for filing your Kansas state tax return is April 15th.
Checkout this video:
It’s that time of year again! Taxes are due soon, and you may be wondering when Kansas state taxes are due.
The answer depends on your tax situation. If you’re an individual taxpayer, your taxes are due on April 15. However, if you’re a business owner or self-employed individual, your taxes are due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of your tax year.
If you need more time to file your taxes, you can get an extension by filing Form KS-1240 with the Kansas Department of Revenue. This extension will give you an additional 6 months to file your return, and it must be postmarked by April 15.
If you owe taxes and don’t file or pay by the due date, you may be subject to penalties and interest charges. So don’t delay – get your taxes done today!
Tax Filing Dates
Kansas State taxes are due on April 15th. This is the same date that federal taxes are due. You will need to file a state tax return if you have Kansas income tax withheld from your pay, if you are self-employed, or if you have any other type of Kansas income.
Federal Income Taxes
The filing deadline for most federal income tax returns is April 15 of each year. However, if you are a sole proprietor, a partner in a partnership, or the owner of an S corporation, your tax return is due on March 15. You can file for an extension until September 15.
State Income Taxes
Most states require you to file a state income tax return in addition to your federal return. The date that you have to file by is usually April 15, the same as your federal filing deadline. However, some states give you an extension, and a few states don’t have an income tax at all.
States with income taxes generally use one of two methods for taxing individuals: a flat tax or a marginal tax. A flat tax is a set percentage of your taxable income, no matter how much you make. For example, if your state has a 5% flat tax, you’ll owe 5% of your taxable income in state taxes, no matter whether you make $20,000 or $200,000. A marginal tax is based on brackets, similar to the federal system. Your marginal rate is the rate you pay on your last dollar of taxable income; as your income goes up, so does your marginal rate. Most states have multiple brackets and use a marginal tax system.
Taxes are generally due on April 15th of each year. However, if April 15th falls on a weekend or holiday, taxes are due the next business day. Check with your state’s tax agency to find out the exact date that taxes are due in your state
If you’re not able to file your Kansas state taxes by the due date, you can request an extension. An extension gives you until October 15 to file your state taxes. You can request an extension by filing Form KS-4040, Application for Extension of Time to File Kansas Income Tax Return. You can get this form on the Kansas Department of Revenue’s website.
Federal Income Taxes
Kansas State Taxes are due on April 15th of every year. Federal Income taxes are also due on this date, unless you file for an extension.
If you need more time to file your taxes, you can request an extension from the Kansas Department of Revenue. To get an extension, you must file Form K-40V, the Application for Extension of Time to File Kansas Income Tax Return. This form is available on the Kansas Department of Revenue website.
The extension will give you an additional six months to file your taxes, and it is automatically granted if you have a valid reason for needing more time. However, if you owe taxes and do not pay them by the original due date, you will be charged interest and penalties.
State Income Taxes
April 15 is the deadline to file your state income tax return in Kansas. If you’regettng a refund, there’s no penalty for filing late. If you owe taxes, you’ll be assessed a penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each month or partial month that the tax remains unpaid, up to a maximum penalty of 25%.
Federal Estimated Taxes
If you’re employed, you probably have taxes withheld from your paycheck. But if you’re self-employed, a farmer, or have other income not subject to withholding, you likely will need to pay estimated taxes.
You generally must pay estimated tax for the current tax year if both of the following apply.
1. You expect to owe at least $1,000 in tax for the current tax year after subtracting any withholding and refundable credits.
2. You expect your withholding and credits to be less than the smaller of:
-90% of the tax to be shown on your current year’s tax return, or
-100% of the tax shown on your prior year’s return. (Your prior year must have covered all 12 months.)
State Estimated Taxes
All states that have an income tax require workers to pay taxes on their earnings throughout the year, rather than waiting until April 15 to pay all taxes owed at once. To ensure that taxpayers comply, most states require workers to make regular estimated tax payments, either monthly or quarterly.
For instance, in Kansas, taxpayers must make estimated tax payments if they expect to owe at least $500 in state taxes after subtracting withholding and refundable credits. Included in this $500 minimum tax liability are any taxes owed on income from self-employment, partnerships, S corporations, estates and trusts, and certain farmers and fishermen.
If you don’t pay enough tax throughout the year, you may be charged a penalty. However, if you end up owing less than $500 after subtracting withholding and refundable credits, you are not required to make estimated tax payments.
Estimated tax payments are due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the taxable year (April 15 for calendar year filers). However, if you file your Kansas return and pay any remaining balance by April 15, you don’t need to make the estimated payment that would otherwise be due on that date.
based on the information that we have gathered, it appears that Kansas state taxes are due on April 15th. However, it is always best to check with the state tax office to be sure.