It’s that time of year again! When are Kansas taxes due? Here are the deadlines you need to know to stay on top of your taxes.
Checkout this video:
Taxes in Kansas
The Tax Foundation ranks Kansas 14th on its list of states with the best tax climate. The state’s sales tax rate of 6.5 percent is lower than the national average, and its 5.7 percent personal income tax rate is also below the national average.
Kansas does not have a general corporate income tax, but it does levy taxes on specific types of businesses, such as banks and insurance companies. The state also has a franchise tax, which is levied on businesses for the privilege of doing business in Kansas.
Residents of Kansas are required to file a state income tax return if they earn income from sources outside the state, such as from a job in another state or from investments. The due date for filing your Kansas state income tax return is April 15, which is the same as the federal filing deadline.
Individual federal income tax returns are due on April 15th of each year. If you are unable to file by the due date, you can request an extension from the IRS which will give you until October 15th to file your return. However, even if you do receive an extension, any taxes owed are still due on April 15th and you may be subject to late payment penalties and interest if they are not paid by that date.
Kansas is one of a handful of states that imposes a state-level sales tax in addition to the federal government’s sales tax. The Kansas state sales tax rate is 6.5%, which is higher than 37 other states’ rates. In addition to the state sales tax, there may be additional local taxes imposed by cities or counties. The total combined state and local sales tax rate in Kansas ranges from 7% to 8.65%.
When Are Taxes Due?
Most states give taxpayers a grace period of at least a few days after the April deadline, and some even offer an extension if you’re out of the country or can’t file for some other reason.
But if you owe taxes, it’s best not to wait too long — the sooner you file, the sooner you’ll get your refund (or start paying interest and penalties on what you owe).
Here are the deadlines for filing 2019 state tax returns:
State taxes are due on or before April 15, 2020.
-Alabama: April 15
-Alaska: No state tax
-Arizona: April 15
-Arkansas: April 15
-California: April 15
-Colorado: April 15
-Connecticut: April 15
In the United States, the federal government imposes an income tax on most types of income. The federal government also imposes other taxes, such as payroll taxes, estate taxes, and gift taxes.
The due date for federal income tax returns is April 15. However, if you cannot file your return by that date, you can get an extension of time to file. You must file for an extension by April 15. If you do not file for an extension, you may have to pay a late-filing penalty.
Extensions and Payment Plans
Depending on the type of tax and your filing status, the due date for your Kansas tax return may be different.
All Kansas taxpayers must file their state tax return by April 15th. However, if you cannot file by the due date, you may request an extension. Extensions are granted automatically, and no reason need be given. However, please note that an extension of time to file is not an extension of time to pay. Taxes must still be paid by April 15th to avoid interest and penalties.
If you cannot pay your taxes in full by the due date, you may set up a payment plan with the state. To do so, please contact the Kansas Department of Revenue at 785-368-8222.
The deadline to file your federal tax return is April 15.If you cannot file by the deadline, you can get an automatic six-month extension of time to file. To get the extension, file Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of Time To File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return.
You have to make a payment if you owe taxes after subtracting any withholding and credits. You will owe interest on any unpaid tax. You may also be charged a late payment penalty unless at least 90 percent of your tax liability is paid by the due date and the rest is paid by the extended due date.
Kansas taxes are due on April 15, same as federal taxes. If you cannot pay the full amount when it is due, you can request an extension of time to pay using Form Kansas Payment Voucher (K-40V). This will give you until October 15 to pay your state taxes without penalties or interest.