A Look Back at When Kansas Won the National Championship

It’s been 25 years since the Jayhawks won the national championship. Take a look back at that historic season with this blog post.

Checkout this video:

A Look Back

In 1988, the Kansas Jayhawks basketball team made history by winning the National Championship. It was a moment that is still talked about today, not just in Kansas, but across the country. Let’s take a look back at that historic season.

A Look Back at the National Championship

On January 3, 1967, the Kansas Jayhawks became national champions for the first time in school history with a 54-53 victory over the Kentucky Wildcats. The Jayhawks were led by head coach Ted Owens and senior captain Jerry Gardner. The team finished the season with a 27-3 record and was ranked No. 1 in the nation by both the Associated Press and United Press International.

A Look Back at the Winning Team

The winning team was coached by Larry Brown and featured such standout players as Danny Manning and Otis Thorpe. The team was not expected to do well that year, but they exceeded all expectations and won the championship.

The Game

On April 5, 2008, the Jayhawks and the Memphis Tigers played in the NCAA championship game. The Jayhawks had made it to the final game by defeating teams such as North Carolina and UCLA. The Jayhawks were the underdog in the championship game, but they ended up winning 75-68. This was a historic moment for the Jayhawks, and it is a memory that will be cherished forever.

The game that won the National Championship

It was the game that would decide everything. The Kansas Jayhawks were up against the Oklahoma Sooners, and the winner would take home the National Championship title. It was a close game, but in the end, the Jayhawks pulled ahead and won by a score of 75-68.

This was a huge victory for the Jayhawks, and it cemented their place in history as one of the best college basketball teams of all time. It was also a sweet revenge for them, as they had lost to Oklahoma in the Final Four just two years before. This win was truly a team effort, and it is one that Kansas fans will never forget.

The players that made it happen

In 1988, the Kansas Jayhawks won the national championship in men’s college basketball. It was a momentous achievement for the team, the players, the coaches, and the fans. Let’s take a look back at the players that made it happen.

Danny Manning was the star of the team. He was a 6’11” forward who could play both inside and outside. He could shoot from anywhere on the court, and he was an excellent rebounder. Manning was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four.

The other members of the starting five were Kevin Pritchard, Milt Newton, Scooter Barry, and Chris Piper. Pritchard was a fierce competitor who always seemed to make the big shot when it was needed. Newton was a 6’10” center who used his size to dominate opponents on both ends of the court. Barry was a 6’5” guard who could shoot and defend. Piper was a 6’7” forward who could also shoot and defend.

The bench players were Mark Randall, Archie Marshall, Byron Houston, and Steve Woodberry. Randall was a versatile player who could play multiple positions. Marshall was a physical player who brought energy to the court. Houston was a sharpshooter who could come into games and provide instant offense. Woodberry was a solid player who did whatever was needed to help his team win.

Together, these players formed one of the greatest teams in college basketball history. They will always be remembered for their incredible achievement in winning the national championship.

After the Game

When the final whistle blew, theKansas Jayhawks were national champions. It had been twelve long years since the Jayhawks had last won a championship, and the entire state was ecstatic. Celebrations broke out all over Lawrence, and the team was lauded as heroes.

What happened after the game

The game was over, and Kansas had won the National Championship. The players were celebrating on the court, the fans were going crazy in the stands, and the coaches were hugging each other on the sidelines. But what happened after the game?

The players went back to the locker room to celebrate with their teammates and coaches. The fans started cheering and chanting “Kansas! Kansas!” as they filed out of the arena. And the coaches went to the post-game press conference to answer questions from reporters.

But that’s not all. After the press conference, the team took a victory lap around campus. They went to a victory parade in downtown Lawrence. And they even got a visit from President Obama at the White House!

It was a pretty amazing few days for the Kansas Jayhawks. And it all started with a win in the National Championship game.

How the team has changed since then

In the years since Kansas won the National Championship, the team has seen a lot of changes.

Most notably, the team has moved from the Big 12 to the SEC. This change happened in 2012, when Kansas left the Big 12 for the SEC.

The team has also seen a lot of changes in its personnel. These days, only four players from the championship team are still on the roster. The rest have either graduated or left for other schools.

The coaching staff has also undergone a lot of changes since then. Current head coach Bill Self was not on the staff when Kansas won the National Championship. In fact, he wasn’t even at Kansas yet – he was coaching at Illinois at that time.

But despite all these changes, one thing remains the same: Kansas is still a force to be reckoned with on the basketball court.

Scroll to Top