When Was the Last Time Kansas Won a National Championship?

It’s been a while since the Jayhawks have brought home a national title. See how long it’s been and relive some of their best moments.

Checkout this video:

NCAA Division I National Championships

The last time Kansas won a NCAA Division I National Championship was in 1988. They have not won since then, but have come close several times. In 2002, they lost to Syracuse in the National Championship game.

Kansas Jayhawks

The Kansas Jayhawks are NCAA Division I men’s basketball program that competes in the Big 12 Conference. The Jayhawks are currently coached by Bill Self. The program has had57 winning seasons, including 32 seasons of 20 or more wins,27 seasons of 30 or more wins, and 9 seasons of 35 or morewins. The program has produced 32 National InvitationTournament (NIT) appearances and 31 NCAA tournamentappearances, including 27 Sweet Sixteen appearances, 15Elite Eight appearances, and 5 Final Four appearances. Outof the 32 teams to have appeared in at least one of the NCAAtournaments, the Jayhawks rank fourth in winning percentageand tied for fourth in number of tournament wins (77).Since inception, the Jayhawks have won five NCAA DivisionI championships: in 1922, 1954 (4-1 over La Salle), 1988(83-79 defeat of Oklahoma), 2008 (75-68 defeat of Memphis),and 2012 (64-59 victory over Kentucky).

UCLA Bruins

The UCLA Bruins have won a record 11 NCAA Division I national championships. Their first championship came in 1963, when they defeated the New York University Violets in the final. The Bruins went on to win titles in 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973 and 1975. Their most recent championship came in 1995, when they defeated the Arkansas Razorbacks in the final.

Kentucky Wildcats

The Kentucky Wildcats are a Division I college basketball team that represents the University of Kentucky. The Wildcats are currently a member of the NCAA’s Southeastern Conference (SEC), and they play their home games at Rupp Arena in Lexington, Kentucky. The team is currently coached by John Calipari.

The Wildcats have won eight NCAA Division I national championships, the most of any team in NCAA Division I history. The first four of these championships were won under head coach Adolph Rupp, who coached Kentucky from 1930 to 1972. The next two were won under head coach Joe B. Hall, who coached Kentucky from 1973 to 1985. The most recent two national championships were won under current head coach John Calipari, who has coached the team since 2010.

Kentucky has also won two National Invitation Tournament (NIT) championships, in 1946 and 1976.

NCAA Division II National Championships

The last time Kansas won a NCAA Division II National Championship was in 1986. This was the school’s first championship win. Kansas has made it to the championship game four times since then, but has not been victorious.

North Dakota State Bison

The North Dakota State Bison are the athletic teams that represent North Dakota State University, located in Fargo, North Dakota. The Bison compete in Division I (FCS for football) of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and are members of the Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC) and Missouri Valley Conference (MVC) for most other sports.

In football, North Dakota State has won 17 conference championships and six national championships. The Bison football program has reached the semifinals or farther in the FCS playoffs 10 times since 2006. In 2012, they became the first team from a non-BCS conference to appear in and win a BCS bowl game when they defeated the Georgia Bulldogs in the 2014 Cotton Bowl Classic. In 2018, they repeated this feat by defeating the Eastern Washington Eagles in the 2018 Frisco Bowl. NDSU is currently on a streak of winning 14 straight games against FBS opponents, which is tied with James Madison for the longest such streak among FCS schools.

Ferris State Bulldogs

The Ferris State Bulldogs are the NCAA Division II national champions in ice hockey. They won the championship in 2018, defeating the previously undefeated Notre Dame Fighting Irish in the final game. It was the first national championship for the Bulldogs, and the first for any team from Michigan since 1980. The Bulldogs finished the season with a record of 32-7-3, and were led by head coach Bob Daniels.

Grand Valley State Lakers

The Grand Valley State Lakers are the athletic teams that represent Grand Valley State University, located in Allendale, Michigan, in Division II of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The Lakers compete as members of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) for all 22 varsity sports. The university has been a member of the GLIAC since 1972.

The men’s and women’s cross country teams have won 29 NCAA Division II National Championships; more than any other school in the country. The women’s team has 23 championships, which is also more than any other school, while the men’s team has six championships. In addition, the women’s indoor track & field team has won ten national championships and the outdoor track & field team has won nine championships.

NCAA Division III National Championships

Kansas last won a national championship in 1986 when they were in the NCAA Division III National Championships. They have not won a championship since then.

Williams Ephs

The Williams Ephs are the athletic teams that represent Williams College, a liberal arts college in Williamstown, Massachusetts. The college is a member of the NCAA Division III and the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC).

In 2017, Williams won its first national championship in any sport when the men’s soccer team defeated Messiah College 1–0 in the championship game. The women’s tennis team has also won four national championships, most recently in 2018.

Amherst Lord Jeffs

The Amherst Lord Jeffs are the athletic teams that represent Amherst College, located in Amherst, Massachusetts, United States. The school is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III level and competes in the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC). A majority of the school’s athletes compete in conference play in 23 sports while the remaining teams compete as independents in 4 sports (men’s golf, men’s and women’s tennis, and men’s volleyball). Men’s and women’s alpine skiing compete as members of the United States Collegiate Ski and Snowboard Association (USCSA), while men’s squash competes as a member of the College Squash Association (CSA) and also competes in varsity level competition against some NCAA Division I opponents. The school has won 32 team national championships.

Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks

The Wisconsin–Whitewater Warhawks are the athletic teams that represent the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater. They compete in the National Collegiate Athletic Association’s Division III and in the Midwest Conference.

Scroll to Top